Every Guinness PRO14 signing ahead of the new season

Rich Dore
13 September 2019

Share this article

With a tantalising Guinness PRO14 season now just two weeks away we thought we’d give you a quick rundown of all the major signings in 2019.

Squads across all five nations have been busy bonding in pre-season, while some clubs have been busier than others in the transfer market.

From Josh Adams to Ruan Pienaar via Luca Bigi, here are all the moves…


Benetton Rugby

Eli Snyman from Blue Bulls

Ian Keatley from London Irish

Michele Lamaro from Petrarca

Charly Trussardi from Bezier

Leonardo Sarto from Leicester Tigers

Cardiff Blues

Josh Adams from Worcester Warriors

Hallam Amos from Dragons

James Botham promoted from Academy

Kieron Assiratti promoted from Academy

Shane Lewis-Hughes promoted from Academy

Will Boyde from Scarlets

Jason Tovey from Dragons

Rory Thornton from Ospreys

Ben Thomas promoted from Academy

Toyota Cheetahs

Ruan Pienaar from Montpellier

Wilmar Arnoldi from Griquas

Chris Massyn from Stormers

Chris Smit from Griquas

Rhyno Smith from Sharks

Duncan Saal from Stormers

Craig Barry from Stormers

Francois Agenbag from Free State XV

Clayton Blommetjies from Scarlets

Eddie Davids from Free State U21

Lubabalo Dobela from Free State XV

Nathan Jordan from Free State U21

Sias Koen from Griquas (season-long loan)

Rewan Kruger from Free State U21

Conan le Fluer from Free State U21

JW Meades from Free State U21

Keanan Murray from  Free State XV

Aya Oliphant from Free State XV

Ruwald van der Merwe from Free State U21

Janus Venter from Free State XV

Anthony Volmink from  Griquas (season-long loan)

George Whitehead from  Griquas (season-long loan)

Connacht Rugby

Paul Boyle promoted from Academy

Paddy McAllister from Gloucester

Matthew Burke promoted from Academy

Conor Fitzgerald promoted from Academy

Conor Kenny promoted from Academy

Tom Daly from Leinster

Stephen Fitzgerald from Munster

Angus Lloyd from Clontarf

Rory Burke from Nottingham

Stephen Kerins promoted from Academy

John Porch from Australia Sevens


Sam Davies from Ospreys

James McCarthy from Munster

Jack Cosgrove from Worcester Warriors

Tom Griffiths from Saracens

Luke Baldwin from Worcester Warriors (season long loan)

Edinburgh Rugby

Murray Douglas from Brumbies (short-term deal)

Jamie Bhatti from Glasgow Warriors

Nick Haining from Bristol Bears

Mike Willemse from Isuzu Southern Kings

Eroni Sau from Perpignan

Mesulame Kunavula from Fiji Sevens

Nic Groom from Lions

Ewan Ashman from Sale Sharks (short-term loan)

Glasgow Warriors

Stafford McDowall promoted from Academy

Andrew Davidson from Newcastle Falcons

Kyle Steyn from Scotland Sevens

George Thornton from Wasps

Charlie Capps from Stade Niçois

Jamie Dobie from Merchiston Castle School

Mesu Dolokoto from Fijian Drua

Jale Vakaloloma from Brisbane City

Sean Kennedy from Edinburgh

Aki Seiuli from Otago

Leinster Rugby

Cian Kelleher from Connacht

Ciarán Frawley promoted from Academy

Hugo Keenan promoted from Academy

Rónan Kelleher promoted from Academy

Conor O’Brien promoted from Academy

Jimmy O’Brien promoted from Academy

Hugh O’Sullivan promoted from Academy

Scott Penny promoted from Academy

Munster Rugby

Gavin Coombes promoted from Academy

Shane Daly promoted from Academy

Nick McCarthy from Leinster

Seán O’Connor promoted from Academy

Craig Casey promoted from Academy

Jed Holloway from Waratahs (Two-month contract)


Gareth Anscombe from Cardiff Blues

Harri Morgan promoted from Academy

Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler promoted from Academy

Gareth Evans from Gloucester

Dewi Lake promoted from Academy

Morgan Morris promoted from Academy

Will Griffiths promoted from Academy

Kieran Williams promoted from Academy


Sam Lousi from Hurricanes

Dan Davis promoted from Academy

Dane Blacker from Cardiff Blues

Danny Drake from North Harbour

Alex Jeffries from Ospreys

Tom James from Cardiff Blues

Isuzu Southern Kings

Jerry Sexton from Jersey Reds

Josh Allderman from Blue Bulls U21

Christian Ambadiang from Naka Bulls

Lusanda Badiyana, unattached

Thembelani Bholi from Bulls

Erich Cronjé from Blue Bulls U21

Cameron Dawson from Free State XV

Andell Loubser from Blue Bulls U21

Siya Masuku from Leopards

Gavin Mills from Boland Landbouskool

Howard Mnisi from Golden Lions

Ig Prinsloo from Naka Bulls

Christopher Hollis from NMMU Madibaz

Josiah Twum-Boafo from NMMU Madibaz

Demetri Catrakilis from  Harlequins

Aston Fortuin from Blue Bulls XV

JT Jackson from Bulls

Elrigh Louw from Free State U21

Jacques du Toit from Cheetahs

Ulster Rugby

Sam Carter from Brumbies

Michael Lowry promoted from Academy

Eric O’Sullivan promoted from Academy

James Hume promoted from Academy

Gareth Milasinovich from Worcester Warriors

Jack McGrath from Leinster

Matt Faddes from Highlanders

Bill Johnston from Munster

Robert Baloucoune promoted from Academy

Angus Kernohan promoted from Academy

Zack McCall promoted from Academy

Marcus Rea promoted from Academy

David O’Connor from Lansdowne


Luca Bigi from Benetton

Alexandru Tărus from Sale Sharks

Paolo Buonfiglio from Mogliano

Junior Laloifi from Manawatu

Michelangelo Biondelli from Fiamme Oro

Pierre Bruno from Calvisano

Danilo Fischetti from Calvisano

Enrico Lucchin from Calvisano

Marco Manfredi from Calvisano

Charlie Walker from Harlequins

Ian Nagle from Leinster

Mick Kearney from Leinster

Lorenzo Masselli from Lyons Piacenza

Cardiff City Stadium will play host to the 2020 Guinness PRO14 Final on June 20 as one of the most exciting days in the club rugby calendar comes to Wales!

General sale tickets are available from http://bit.ly/PRO14Cardiff2020 and prices start at just £13 for concessions and £26 for adults (subject to booking fees), that’s a 15% early bird discount. Family ticket (2 adults / 2 children) prices begin at £64 and fans are encouraged to buy early to get the best value tickets.

Share this article