Cheetahs name squad for momentous Currie Cup climax

Joe Leavey
06 September 2019

Share this article

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs will be facing the Xerox Golden Lions on Saturday, 7 September 2019 in the Currie Cup final at 17:00 (SAST) in Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein.

Gates open at 12:00 SAST and the days kicks off with the SA Rugby u.21 Championship final between the Blue Bulls and Western Province.

Entertainment before and after the main match at the Castle Deck and hockey field is Arno Jordaan and Francois Bouwer.

This is an exciting day for Free State Rugby and die-hard rugby fans will be witnessing the 15th¬†Currie Cup final for the Free State side, and the 8th¬†in Bloemfontein. ¬†This will also be the third Currie Cup final between the two sides, all in Bloemfontein. ¬†(1 October 1994, Transvaal 56 ‚Äď Free State 33 and 27 October 2007, Cheetahs 20 ‚Äď Lions 18).

‚ÄúWe didn‚Äôt come all this way just to compete in the final. ¬†It is going to be an 80 minute performance against the Lions,‚ÄĚ said captain Tian Meyer. ¬†Meyer urges the fans to come to the match and to enjoy the vibe in Bloemfontein.

‚ÄúIt is a privilege to play in a Currie Cup final at home.‚ÄĚ Said Franco Smith, who announced his team with only two changes from last week.

Abongile Nonkontwana and Gerhard Olivier switch places, with Oliver starting on number 6 flank.  Charles Marais returns from injury and will be providing cover on the bench.

Toyota Cheetahs side to face Xerox Golden Lions in the Currie Cup final

15.          Clayton Blommetjies

14.          William Small-Smith

13.          Benhard Janse van Rensburg

12.          Dries Swanepoel

11.          Tian Meyer (C )

10.          Tian Schoeman

9.            Ruan Pienaar

1.            Ox Nche

2.            Joseph Dweba

3.            Erich de Jager

4.            Sintu Manjezi

5.            Walt Steenkamp

6.            Gerhard Olivier

7.            Junior Pokomela

8.            Henco Venter


16.          Jacques du Toit

17.          Charles Marais

18.          Reinach Venter

19.          JP du Preez

20.          Jasper Wiese

21.          Abongile Nonkontwana

22.          Louis Fouche

23.          Darren Adonis

Share this article