Edinburgh’s McInally captains as Townsend names World Cup squad

Rich Dore
03 September 2019

Share this article

Edinburgh Rugby’s Stuart McInally has been named as Scotland’s captain for the Rugby World Cup, with nine of his clubmates also selected to travel to Japan.

Glasgow Warriors have 12 men named in the 31-man squad, with Adam Hastings picked at fly-half and the versatile Peter Horne getting the nod in a hugely-competitive centre selection battle.

McInally is joined in the squad by two other hookers, Fraser Brown and George Turner, while the other front rowers are Simon Berghan, Allan Dell, Zander Fagerson, Willem Nel and Gordon Reid.

Four second rows are named – Scott Cummings, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray and Ben Toolis, while the five back rows are John Barclay, Jamie Ritchie, Blade Thomson, Hamish Watson and Ryan Wilson.

On naming his squad, head coach Gregor Townsend commented: “Stuart (McInally) has done a really good job in the opportunities he’s had to captain Scotland.

“We have a number of leaders in our squad and it was great to see them work well together out in Georgia last week.

“We’re delighted with the squad and believe we’ve picked a group capable of playing our best rugby and doing this consistently throughout the tournament.

“The players have worked hard to be in the best physical shape of their careers and we know that when they play to their potential they are capable of beating any team in the world.

“There were a number of tough calls given the quality of our wider training squad, and on the close decisions we’ve looked to select players that have strong defensive attributes and are willing to out-work their opposite number.”

Joining Pete Horne as the squad’s centre options are his Glasgow Warriors clubmate Sam Johnson, Chris Harris and Saracen Duncan Taylor, with Warriors scrum-halves George Horne and Ali Price also named.


John Barclay (Edinburgh) – 74 caps
Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 21 caps
Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 42 caps
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps
Allan Dell (London Irish) – 24 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 21 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 36 caps
Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 51 caps
Stuart McInally CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 29 caps
Willem Nel (Edinburgh) – 31 caps
Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls) – 36 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 11 caps
Blade Thomson (Scarlets) – 1 cap
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 20 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 7 caps
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 27 caps
Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 44 caps

BACKS (14)

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) – 6 caps
Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 9 caps
Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 13 caps
Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) – 69 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 6 caps
Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 42 caps
Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 5 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 14 caps
Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne) – 73 caps
Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 42 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 26 caps
Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 46 caps
Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 51 caps
Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 22 caps

Cardiff City Stadium will play host to the 2020 Guinness PRO14 Final on June 20 as one of the most exciting days in the club rugby calendar comes to Wales!

General sale tickets are available from http://bit.ly/PRO14Cardiff2020 and prices start at just £13 for concessions and £26 for adults (subject to booking fees), that’s a 15% early bird discount. Family ticket (2 adults / 2 children) prices begin at £64 and fans are encouraged to buy early to get the best value tickets.

Share this article