Best back for Ireland to face England

Bradley West
22 August 2019

Share this article

Ulster stalwart Rory Best returns to captain Ireland for their clash with England at Twickenham as they step up their Rugby World Cup preparations.

Best is joined in the front row by Leinster man Cian Healy, who will win his 90th cap, and Tadhg Furlong as Ireland look to maintain the momentum that saw them beat Italy 29-10 in their opening World Cup warm-up game two weeks ago.

Jean Kleyn, who made his debut in that match, is partnered in the second row by Iain Henderson.

The back row sees Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander get their first outing of the season while Ross Byrne will win his third international cap at fly-half, having previously featured against Italy and the USA in the 2018 Guinness Series.

Connacht’s Bundee Aki and Leinster’s Garry Ringrose are set to renew their centre partnership and Rob Kearney starts at full-back, with Leinster teammate Jordan Larmour and Ulster’s Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

Jack Carty, who took over from the injured Joey Carbery in the game against Italy two weeks ago, is named in the replacements with Luke McGrath and Andrew Conway as the other back subs.

Leinster duo Sean Cronin and Jack McGrath are in line for their first minutes of the season off the bench which also includes Andrew Porter, Devin Toner and Tadhg Beirne who all featured at the Aviva Stadium earlier this month.

Ireland team to face England:

15. Rob Kearney (Leinster)

14. Jordan Larmour (Leinster)

13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

12. Bundee Aki (Connacht)

11. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)

10. Ross Byrne (Leinster)

9. Conor Murray (Munster)

1. Cian Healy (Leinster)

2. Rory Best (Ulster)

3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)

4. Iain Henderson (Ulster)

5. Jean Kleyn (Munster)

6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster)

7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster)

8. CJ Stander (Munster)


16. Sean Cronin (Leinster)

17. Jack McGrath (Leinster)

18. Andrew Porter (Leinster)

19. Devin Toner (Leinster)

20. Tadhg Beirne (Munster)

21. Luke McGrath (Leinster)

22. Jack Carty (Connacht)

23. Andrew Conway (Munster)

Share this article