Davies brothers set to make Wales history

Charlie Bennett
15 August 2019

Share this article

Scarlets duo James and Jonathan Davies will become the first brothers to play alongside each other for Wales in 13 years when they tackle England in their second World Cup warm-up on Saturday.

James Davies

Flanker James replaces Justin Tipuric in one of three Welsh changes while Jonathan starts at centre, as they become the first brothers since Nicky and Jamie Robinson to play for Wales since 2006.

Lock Jake Ball is also drafted in to replace Adam Beard while Dan Biggar gets the nod at fly-half, replacing the injured Ospreys playmaker Gareth Anscombe.

There are six Scarlets named in the side, with Hadleigh Parkes, Gareth Davies and Ken Owens also given the nod.

George North, Nicky Smith and captain Alun Wyn Jones will represent Ospreys, while Cardiff Blues boast one player in Josh Adams and the Dragons two in Aaron Wainwright and Ross Moriarty.

“This weekend is another opportunity for us to take the field, test ourselves and continue our preparation for Japan,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“It is a little over five weeks until we kick off our campaign in Toyota against Georgia and it is important we are fully prepared and rugby-ready by then.

“We were disappointed to get the loss last weekend so it is important we step it up on Saturday and put in a big display in front a of a packed Principality Stadium.

“The squad are looking forward to getting back out there, taking another step towards the RWC and putting in a big performance.”

Wales team to face England:
15. Liam Williams (Saracens)
14. George North (Ospreys)
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets)
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues)
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints)
9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
1. Nicky Smith (Ospreys)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs)
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (c)
6. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)
7. James Davies (Scarlets)
8. Ross Moriarty (Dragons)

16. Elliot Dee (Dragons)
17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets)
18. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues)
19. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)
20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues)
21. Aled Davies (Ospreys)
22. Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues)
23. Owen Watkin (Ospreys)

Share this article