Coetzee gets chance for Springboks against Argentina

Paul Eddison
14 August 2019

Share this article

Ulster back-rower Marcell Coetzee will have another chance to stake a claim for a World Cup spot when he lines up against Argentina in Pretoria for the Springboks.

The 28-year-old will start at No.8 for the recent Rugby Championship winners as they take on Argentina for the second successive weekend.

Last time out, the Springboks were comfortable victors away to the Pumas, with former Munster boss Rassie Erasmus using this game to get another look at some of those players who did not get a huge amount of game time during the Rugby Championship.

Coetzee starts in a back three that also features fit-again Siya Kolisi, Springbok skipper last year.

In his first game back however, Erasmus has decided against giving Kolisi the extra responsibility of captaincy, instead making experienced hooker Schalk Brits the captain.

Elsewhere Cobus Reinach and Elton Jantjies will form the half-back pairing while hooker Scarra Ntubeni is set for his debut off the bench.

Springbok team to play Argentina in Pretoria:
15. Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Bulls)
14. Sbu Nkosi (Cell C Sharks)
13. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Bulls)
12. André Esterhuizen (Cell C Sharks)
11. Dillyn Leyds (DHL Western Province)
10. Elton Jantjies (vice-captain – Emirates Lions)
9. Cobus Reinach (Northampton, England)

1. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
2. Schalk Brits (captain – Vodacom Bulls)
3. Vincent Koch (Saracens, England)
4. RG Snyman (Vodacom Bulls)
5. Lood de Jager (Vodacom Bulls)
6. Siya Kolisi (DHL Western Province)
7. Rynhardt Elstadt (Toulouse, France)
8. Marcell Coetzee (Ulster, Northern Ireland)


16. Scarra Ntubeni (DHL Western Province)
17. Lizo Gqoboka (Vodacom Bulls)
18. Wilco Louw (DHL Western Province)
19. Marvin Orie (Emirates Lions)
20. Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls)
21. Kwagga Smith (Emirates Lions)
22. Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks)
23. Frans Steyn (Montpellier)

Share this article