Ulster squad named for Glasgow mission

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
16 May 2019

Share this article

The Ulster squad has been named for Friday’s Guinness PRO14 semi-final versus Glasgow Warriors (Scotstoun Stadium, 7.35pm).

Jacob Stockdale

Darren Cave is named among the replacements and he will move level with Andrew Trimble in the all-time appearance list for Ulster (229), if called upon.

There is also a milestone for Nick Timoney, who is set to make his 50th Ulster appearance after being selected to start in the back row.

The coaching team has made just two changes to the starting XV, both in the backline, with Jacob Stockdale and Louis Ludik recovering from injury to earn selection. The duo will be joined in the back three by Abbey Insurance Academy flyer Robert Baloucoune.

Stuart McCloskey, who picked up the Bank of Ireland Ulster Player of the Year and Supporters’ Player of the Year awards last week, is paired in midfield with Luke Marshall, while John Cooney and Billy Burns are retained in the half-back positions.

The pack is unchanged from the quarter-final win against Connacht at Kingspan Stadium. Rory Best will captain the side from hooker, where he is joined in the front row by Eric O’Sullivan and Ross Kane.

Iain Henderson and Kieran Treadwell continue their second row partnership, with Timoney, Jordi Murphy and Marcell Coetzee selected as the loose forwards.

Michael Lowry, who started against Connacht, is the only new face on the replacements bench. That means Rob Herring, Andy Warwick, Tom O’Toole, Alan O’Connor and Sean Reidy will provide cover for the forwards, while Dave Shanahan and Cave make up the match day 23.

The match will be televised live on Premier Sports and eir Sport, with additional broadcast coverage to be provided by BBC Radio Ulster and RTE Radio.

Ulster team to play Glasgow Warriors, Guinness PRO14 semi-final, Scotstoun Stadium, Friday 17th May 2019 (7.35pm):

(15-9): J Stockdale; R Baloucoune, L Marshall, S McCloskey, L Ludik; B Burns, J Cooney;

(1-8): E O’Sullivan, R Best (captain), R Kane, I Henderson, K Treadwell, N Timoney, J Murphy, M Coetzee;

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, A Warwick, T O’Toole, A O’Connor, S Reidy, D Shanahan, M Lowry, D Cave.

Share this article