Zebre team to face Scarlets

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
12 April 2019

Share this article

Zebre team to face Scarlets


Zebre left Parma this morning for Wales to face the last trip of the 2018/19 season.

Saturday night at 5.15pm, the Scarlets await George Biagi and his team-mates in the 20th round of the Guinness PRO14.

Zebre are looking for the first success of 2019 and the second victory away from Lanfranchi in the season after the game won in Sochi in Russia against the Enisei-STM in the EPCR Challenge Cup.

Zebre will take the field at Parc Y Scarlets with 8 changes in the starting line-up.

The backs unit is completely revolutionised: only Italian internationals Padovani and Bisegni keep their jerseys.

An all-new half back pairing sees Azzolini share the unit with the all-time caps leader of the club, Palazzani in his 126th official game.

In the pack, Rimpelli will start as in the front row and Ortis in the second-row. Brown will start at flanker; the Fijian was one of the best on the field in the last round with 12 tackles, 10 carries, two defenders beat and a break in just 19 minutes.

Two permit players will sit on the bench, the loose-head prop Fischetti and the tight-head prop Filippo Alongi.

Here’s Zebre Rugby Club line-up for Saturday, April 13 match at Parc Y Scarlets in Llanelli (Wales) for the 20th round of the Guinness PRO14 against the Welsh side of Scarlets. Kick-off at 5.15 pm local time:

15 Edoardo Padovani*
14 Gabriele Di Giulio*
13 Giulio Bisegni
12 Nicolas De Battista
11 Paula Balekana
10 Maicol Azzolini*
9 Guglielmo Palazzani
8 Renato Giammarioli*
7 James Brown
6 Maxime Mbandà*
5 George Biagi (cap)
4 Samuele Ortis
3 Marco Ciccioli
2 Oliviero Fabiani
1 Daniele Rimpelli*


16 Massimo Ceciliani*
17 Danilo Fischetti*
18 Fillipo Alongi*
19 Leonard Krumov*
20 Apisai Tauyavuca
21 Joshua Renton
22 Mattia Bellini
23 James Elliott

Head Coach: Michael Bradley

Not available for selection due to injury: Cruze Ah-Nau, Eduardo Bello, Francois Brummer, Carlo Canna, Tommaso Castello, Dario Chistolini, Giovanni Licata*, Johan Meyer, Matteo Minozzi*, David Sisi, Roberto Tenga, Jimmy Tuivaiti, Marcello Violi* e Giosué Zilocchi*

*Former member of the Italian Rugby Union National Academy “Ivan Francescato”

Referee: Keith Allen (Scottish Rugby Union)
Assistant Referees: Dan Jones (Welsh Rugby Union) and Graeme Ormiston (Scottish Rugby Union)
TMO: Neil Patterson (Scottish Rugby Union)

Share this article