Seven Italian Internationals return to boost Zebre

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
01 March 2019

Share this article

Zebre are ready to face the last challenge of the 2019 Six Nations window.

David Sisi

After hosting Leinster, the leaders of Conference B, two weeks ago in Viadana, coach Bradley XV will face the second-placed team in Conference A in the third and final fixture against a Scottish side.

Both clubs have seen many of their athletes take the field in the first three rounds of the Six Nations: ten Italians will be capped on Sunday by Italy in Rome while there were as many as 21 Scots who have taken part so far in the training camps of the Highlanders.

There are six changes in the starting line-up of Zebre compared to the last encounter against Ulster.

In particular, three of the Azzurri who played Ireland in the Six Nations last Sunday at the Olympic Stadium in Rome: Lock Sisi, flanker Tuivaiti and Castello: the inside centre returns to wear the number 12 jersey and also takes the captaincy.

In total there are seven Italian internationals included in the 23 that start the game from the first minute: Bisegni, Canna and Fabiani while the scrum-half Palazzani will sit on the bench.

Here’s Zebre Rugby Club line-up for Saturday, March 2 match at Stadio Lanfranchi in Parma (Italy) for the 17th round of the Guinness PRO14 against the Scottish side of the Glasgow Warriors. Kick-off at 6.15 pm local time:

15 Francois Brummer
14 Gabriele Di Giulio*
13 Giulio Bisegni
12 Tommaso Castello (cap)
11 James Elliott
10 Carlo Canna
9 Joshua Renton

8 Renato Giammarioli*
7 Jimmy Tuivaiti
6 James Brown
5 David Sisi
4 Samuele Ortis*
3 Roberto Tenga
2 Oliviero Fabiani
1 Daniele Rimpelli*


16 Massimo Ceciliani*
17 Danilo Fischetti* (permit player from Rugby Calvisano)
18 Matteo Nocera* (permit player from Fiamme Oro Rugby)
19 Apisai Tauyavuca
20 Iacopo Bianchi* (permit player from FiammeOro Rugby)
21 Guglielmo Palazzani
22 Tommaso Boni*
23 Paula Balekana

Head Coach: Michael Bradley

Not available for selection due to injury: Cruze Ah-Nau,Mattia Bellini, Eduardo Bello, Dario Chistolini,Giovanni Licata*, Johan Meyer,Matteo Minozzi*, Marcello Violi* and Giosué Zilocchi*

Capped by Italy for the Guinness Six Nations: Maxime Mbandà*, Andrea Lovotti* and Edoardo Padovani*

*Former member of the Italian Rugby Union National Academy “Ivan Francescato”

Referee: Andrew Brace (Irish Rugby Football Union)
Assistant Referees: Johnny Erskine (Irish Rugby Football Union) e Luca Trentin (Federazione Italiana Rugby)
TMO: Stefano Roscini (Federazione Italiana Rugby)

Share this article