Toyota Cheetahs against Ospreys

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
07 September 2018

Share this article

After a disappointing start in round 1 the Toyota Cheetahs are set to take on Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium in Swansea on Saturday. The match kicks off at 18:30 SA time with a live broadcast on SuperSport 1.

Shaun Venter

“We have a big challenge ahead of us. The Ospreys team has a number of international players with a great pack of forwards and players like Alyn Wyn Jones, who is an excellent line-out jumper with lots of experience in the Wales and British and Irish Lions jersey, and forwards like Justin Tipuric, Bradley Davies, Dan Lydiate as well as George North and Scott Williams who’s names stand out in the backline.” Said coach Franco Smith.

“From our side we’d like to follow our processes and build on the positives from last week. We were still in strike range up to the 65th minute against one of the best defensive teams in the championship. We’ve asked ourselves a lot of good questions. We didn’t made use of all the opportunities and we want to improve on the set phases and defence.”

“With the anticipation of relatively wet conditions, some areas of the game have been adapted to suit the weather circumstances.”

The two sides have won their respective home games when they met last season.

Coach Franco Smith has announced his team for the match.

· Oupa Mohoje has been side lined after suffering an ACL tear in his right knee sustained in last week’s match against Munster. He is expected to be out of action for 9 months.

· Gerhard Olivier has joined the team in Swansea and will be providing cover on the bench for Aidon Davis.

· Shaun Venter will be leading the side onto the field for this match.

The team will be travelling back to South Africa on Sunday for their Round 3 match against Glasgow Warriors on Saturday, 15 September in Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein.

Toyota Cheetahs

15 – Malcolm Jaer
14 – Rabz Maxwane
13 – Benhard Janse van Rensburg
12 – Nico Lee
11 – William Small-Smith
10 – Tian Schoeman
9 – Shaun Venter

1 – Ox Nche
2 – Jacques du Toit
3 – Luan de Bruin
4 – Justin Basson
5 – JP du Preez
6 – Junior Pokomela
7 – Aidon Davis
8 – Jasper Wiese

16 – Joseph Dweba
17 – Charles Marais
18 – Aranos Coetzee
19 – Walt Steenkamp
20 – Gerhard Olivier
21 – Tian Meyer
22 – Ernst Stapelberg/Marnus van der Merwe
23 – Ryno Eksteen

The referee for the match is Andrew Brace (IRFU, 36th competition game). He will be assisted by George Clancy (IRFU), Gareth John (WRU). The TMO is Tim Hayes (WRU).

Share this article