Zebre name unchanged line up for derby match against Benetton Rugby

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
27 April 2018

Share this article

Zebre Rugby Club travel to Stadio Monigo to face Benetton Rugby in Round 21 of the Guinness PRO14. 

Both teams are coming off the back of two and three wins respectively and arrive at the last regular round of the competition having broken the record of seasonal wins in the competition: 6 for Zebre, 11 for Benetton. 

The kick-off for the latin derby is at 6 pm (local time) on Saturday.

In the two previous fixtures, dating back to last December, Benetton Rugby were victorious at home and in the match at the Stadio Lanfranchi in Parma.

Irrelevant of their conference standing, tomorrow’s game still has particular importance for both teams adding to the competition in some key roles of the Azzurri team travelling to Japan.

Zebre Rugby head coach Michael Bradley has confirmed the same line-up which beat the Ospreys last Saturday in Parma will take tot he field against Benetton Rugby. 

Bradley deploys an all Italian back-line with Minozzi at fullback and Bellini with Venditti as wingers. 

The chosen centres are Bisegni and captain Castello, while the halves are Canna and Violi.

In the pack, Meyer will start in the back-row alongside number eight David Sisi and blind-side flanker Sarto. 

In the second row, Biagi will partner Krumov, while in the front row, Chistolini, Fabiani and Lovotti will start from the off.

JP Doyle, refereeing his first match in the Guinness PRO14, will take charge of the game, with Manuel Bottino and Gianluca Gnecchi the two assistants. Sean Davey has been chosen as the TMO.

Here’s the Zebre Rugby Club line-up for Saturday, April 28 match at the Stadio comunale di Monigo in Treviso (Italy) for the 21th round of the Guinness PRO14 against the Italian side of Benetton Rugby. Kick off at 6 pm local time: 

15 Matteo Minozzi*
14 Mattia Bellini
13 Giulio Bisegni
12 Tommaso Castello (cap)
11 Giovanbattista Venditti*
10 Carlo Canna
9 Marcello Violi*

8 David Sisi
7 Johan Meyer
6 Jacopo Sarto
5 George Biagi
4 Leonard Krumov*
3 Dario Chistolini
2 Oliviero Fabiani
1 Andrea Lovotti*


16 Luhandre Luus*
17 Cruze Ah-Nau
18 Eduardo Bello
19 Valerio Bernabò
20 Derick Minnie
21 Guglielmo Palazzani
22 Edoardo Padovani*
23 Gabriele Di Giulio*

Coach: Michael Bradley

Not available for selection due to injury: Tommaso Boni*, Serafin Bordoli, Ciaran Gaffney, Renato Giammarioli*, Andrea Manici*, Maxime Mbandà*, Matteo Pratichetti

*Former member of the Italian Rugby Union academy “Ivan Francescato”

Referee: John Paul Doyle (Rugby Football Union)
Assistant Referees: Manuel Bottino (Federazione Italiana Rugby) and Gianluca Gnecchi (Federazione Italiana Rugby)
TMO: Sean Davey (Rugby Football Union)

Live tv coverage of the game in Italy on Eurosport 2 and on live streaming on www.eurosportplayer.it. Live text coverage of the game on www.pro14rugby.org and on Zebre Rugby twitter account with the official game hashtag #BENvZEB

Zebre Rugby

Share this article