DTH to join Warriors 100 club in 1872 Cup decider

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
27 April 2018

Share this article

DTH van der Merwe will make his 100th Glasgow Warriors appearance in the 1872 Cup decider against Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield on Saturday, kick off 7.45pm, live on Sky Sports.

#GUINNESSPRO14 Teams: DTH van der Merwe to join @GlasgowWarriors 100 club in #1872Cup decider

The club’s all-time top try scorer, the Canadian International winger rejoined the Warriors from Newcastle Falcons this season and scored twice on his comeback match against Zebre at Scotstoun.

He joins Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg, both of whom are already club centurions, in the back-three.

Sam Johnson and Nick Grigg both return to the starting XV in midfield, outside of Finn Russell.

George Horne starts at scrum-half having shone for Scotland 7s at the Commonwealth Games and on the HSBC World Rugby 7s series earlier this month.

Ryan Wilson captains the side at number 8 having recovered from injury, joining Matt Fagerson and Callum Gibbins in the back-row.

Jonny Gray is also fit to play, partnering Tim Swinson in the second row. They pack down behind Alex Allan, Fraser Brown and Zander Fagerson.

Glasgow can also call upon a depth of experience from the bench. Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro, Henry Pyrgos and Peter Horne boasting over 600 Warriors appearances between them.

Lee Jones completes the 23 having also been involved with Scotland 7s in Hong Kong and on the Gold Coast.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “We’re highly motivated. There’s a historic cup up for grabs and we want to put in a good performance for the thousands of Warriors fans who will be travelling along the M8 to support us.

“It’s a big boost to bring back international quality in Jonny (Gray) and Ryan (Wilson). Both have trained really well and are chomping at the bit to be involved.

“We’re the final game on a great day of rugby and hopefully we’re one of many teams representing the West of Scotland to win on Silver Saturday.”

Tickets are still available at: glasgowwarriors.org/match-tickets

Glasgow Warriors team to play Edinburgh Rugby in the 1872 Cup decider at BT Murrayfield in the Guinness PRO14, Saturday 28 April, kick off 7.45pm – live on Sky Sports. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

15. Stuart Hogg (106)
14. Tommy Seymour (114)
13. Nick Grigg (40)
12. Sam Johnson (39)
11. DTH van der Merwe (99)
10. Finn Russell (79)
9. George Horne (18)

1. Alex Allan (72)
2. Fraser Brown (73)
3. Zander Fagerson (67)
4. Tim Swinson (110)
5. Jonny Gray (85)
6. Matt Fagerson (24)
7. Callum Gibbins (13)
8. Ryan Wilson (138) CAPTAIN


16. George Turner (17)
17. Jamie Bhatti (25)
18. Siua Halanukonuka (15)
19. Rob Harley (182)
20. Chris Fusaro (140)
21. Henry Pyrgos (145)
22. Peter Horne (137)
23. Lee Jones (74)

Not available due to injury: Adam Ashe (ankle), Huw Jones (head/face), Oli Kebble (ankle), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Pat MacArthur (shoulder), Kiran McDonald (shoulder) and Leo Sarto (shoulder).


Share this article