Huw Jones starts as Rennie rotates

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
20 April 2018

Share this article

Dave Rennie has made six changes to his starting XV with Scotland international Huw Jones starting at outside centre for the re-arranged game against Ulster tomorrow.

Huw Jones

Alex Dunbar scored on his return to the side against Connacht last Friday and shifts to twelve.

Ali Price and Finn Russell start in the half-back positions, swapping in for Henry Pyrgos and Peter Horne who are both on the bench in Belfast.

Lelia Masaga starts on the wing with Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg completing the back-three.

Siua Halanukonuka starts at tight-head prop. Fraser Brown and Alex Allan are the other front-row forwards.

Tim Swinson comes into the second-row alongside Scott Cummings, while the loose-forwards remain unchanged and Callum Gibbins once again captains the side.

Ryan Grant comes onto the bench,  along with Greg Peterson and Matt Smith. Centre Nick Grigg completes the 23.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie, said: “We are rapt to have confirmed a home semi-final berth and see the next couple of weeks as a chance to build momentum against tough away opponents.

“Ulster still have a chance to qualify for the Final Series and Europe so have plenty to play for.

“They lead the competition in line-breaks so keeping players like Jacob Stockdale and Charles Piutau quiet will be crucial.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Ulster in the Guinness PRO14, Saturday 21 April, kick off 6.05pm – live on BBC Two Scotland. You can follow the game on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

15. Stuart Hogg (105)
14. Tommy Seymour (113)
13. Huw Jones (6)
12. Alex Dunbar (109)
11. Lelia Masaga (7)
10. Finn Russell (78)
9. Ali Price (56)

1. Alex Allan (71)
2. Fraser Brown (72)
3. Siua Halanukonuka (14)
4. Scott Cummings (36)
5. Tim Swinson (109)
6. Rob Harley (181)
7. Callum Gibbins (12) CAPTAIN
8. Matt Fagerson (23)


16. George Turner (16)
17. Ryan Grant (111)
18. Zander Fagerson (66)
19. Greg Peterson (28)
20. Matt Smith (17)
21. Henry Prygos (144)
22. Peter Horne (136)
23. Nick Grigg (39)

Not available due to injury: Adam Ashe (ankle), Jonny Gray (shoulder), Oli Kebble (ankle), Paddy Kelly (ankle), Pat MacArthur (shoulder), Kiran McDonald (shoulder), DTH van der Merwe (thigh), Leo Sarto (shoulder) and Ryan Wilson (chest).

Share this article