Toyota Cheetahs name team to face Connacht in Bloemfontein

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
02 March 2018

Share this article

After a three week tour to Wales and Scotland, the Toyota Cheetahs will be facing Connacht from Ireland at 19:35 in Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein on Saturday, 3 March 2018. The match will be broadcasted live on SuperSport 1.

Luther Obi

Toyota Stadium will be filled with rugby action on Saturday when teams from the Free State Rugby u.19 league will be facing each other in two matches. The first curtain raiser between the Free State Invitational team and UFS is at 16:00 followed by Bloemfontein Invitational and Heimat at 17:15.

Franja du Plessis will be providing entertainment at the Castle Deck after the match. Gates open at 15:00

The two sides met in Galway in round 8 with Connacht winning 23-15. The Toyota Cheetahs would want to gather points at home after for three defeats on tour. The Toyota Cheetahs have lost just once at home this campaign.

“Our approach is to take each game as it comes. Obviously we prepare to win the game and a win will contribute to a play-off position,” said Coach Rory Duncan.

Duncan has announced his team with some changes from last week:

Luther Obi will be replacing the injured Malcolm Jaer and Rabs Mazwano will be providing cover on the bench.

Zee Mkhabela will be replacing Shaun Venter. Venter has been side-lined due to an injury. Returning from injury, Tian Meyer will be providing cover on the bench. Meyer will be playing in his 50th match for the Toyota Cheetahs as soon as he sets foot to field.

Ox Nche and Aranos Coetzee will be the starting props with Charles Marais and Tom Botha on the bench. Coetzee will be playing in his 50th match for the Toyota Cheetahs.

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury:

William Small-Smith (knee), Dennis Visser (knee), Niell Jordaan (ankle), Elandré Huggett (knee) Ruan van Rensburg, (knee), Lloyd Greeff (shoulder), Luan de Bruin, Shaun Venter (groin), Malcolm Jaer (hand).

15 Clayton Blommetjies
14 Craig Barry
13 Francois Venter ( C)
12 Nico Lee
11 Luther Obi
10 Niel Marais
9 Zee Mkhabela

1 Ox Nche
2 Torsten van Jaarsveld
3 Johan Coetzee
4 Justin Basson
5 Reniel Hugo
6 Paul Schoeman
7 Henco Venter
8 Uzair Cassiem

16 Jacques du Toit
17 Charles Marais
18 Tom Botha
19 Renier Bernardo
20 Oupa Mohoje
21 Tian Meyer
22 Fred Zeilinga
23 Sibhale Maxano

The referee for the match is Stuart Berry. He will be assisted by Ben Crouse and Jaco Kotze. The TMO is Johan Greeff.

Share this article