Southern Kings team to face Leinster Rugby

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
22 February 2018

Share this article

There were a few changes made by Southern Kings Head Coach Deon Davids when he named his team to take on Leinster in a GUINNESSPRO14 championship clash tomorrow evening.

Amongst the backline a shuffle of the back three saw Michael Makase, who played on the left wing against Ospreys, move to his favoured position of right wing whilst Anthonie Volmink, who missed out against Ospreys, has been restored to left wing in the starting XV. Yaw Penxe, who was at right wing in the last game, now moves to fullback.

The forward pack remains largely intact except amongst the loose trio where Man-of-the -Match against Ospreys Andisa Ntsila switches from flank to eighthman. Ntsila’s spot on the side of the scrum goes to Eital Bredenkamp with Ruan Lerm moving to the bench.

Other changes amongst the replacements made to the team that did duty for the Kings in their last fixture see lock Welemu Lindokuhle and Juan-Phillip Smith called up while centre Jacques Nel – who just flew in to join the squad from South Africa this week – takes over from Harlon Klaasen who unfortunately had to return home after injury.

Both coach Davids and captain Michael Willemse said that despite the disappointment of two defeats on their mini-tour so far they were determined to finish the tour on a high note and assured fans that they would be giving everything they had against the powerful Leinster outfit. “They are a very good team and we will need to be organised on defence against them. It’s also important that we try and play the game in the right areas and clinical in using our opportunities when we get quality ball,” said Davids.

Tomorrow evening’s match takes place at the RDS Arena and kicks off at 21h35 SA time. The match will be broadcast live on Supersport.

Southern Kings

15 Yaw Penxe
14 Michael Makase
13 Berton Klaasen
12 Luzuko Vulindlu
11 Anthonie Volmink
10 Martin Du Toit
9 Rowan Gouws
1 Schalk Ferreira
2 Michael Willemse (C)
3 Pieter Scholtz
4 Stephan Greeff
5 Arthur De Wee
6 Eital Bredenkamp
7 Martinus Burger
8 Andisa Ntsila

16 Stephan Coetzee
17 Johan Smith
18 Luvuyo Pupuma
19 Lindokuhle Welemu
20 Ruaan Lerm
21 Juan-Phillip Smith
22 Barend Janse van Rensburg
23 Jacques Nel

Share this article