Munster Rugby team to face Connacht Rugby

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
05 January 2018

Share this article

The Munster team to face Connacht at Thomond Park on Saturday night has been named by Head Coach Johann van Graan.

Rhys Marshall

CJ Stander captains the side as Chris Farrell, Rhys Marshall and Conor Oliver all return from injury to start.

It is an all-international backline with Simon Zebo named at full-back as Andrew Conway and Keith Earls start on the wings.

Rory Scannell partners the returning Farrell in the centres as Ian Keatley and Conor Murray are back in the side as the half-backs.

Marshall starts at hooker with Ireland internationals Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan on either side of the front row.

Darren O’Shea maintains his place after impressing away to Ulster and Jean Kleyn comes into the engine room in place of Billy Holland, who misses his first game of the season through injury.

Jack O’Donoghue moves to blindside flanker as Oliver makes his first appearance of the season at openside and Stander captains the side from no.8.

Peter O’Mahony is among the forward replacements along with Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer and Robin Copeland.

Duncan Williams, Bill Johnston and Darren Sweetnam provide the backline cover.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Darren O’Shea; Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Oliver, CJ Stander (C).

Replacements: Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Robin Copeland, Peter O’Mahony, Duncan Williams, Bill Johnston, Darren Sweetnam.

Share this article