Five changes to Warriors starting XV for visit of Edinburgh

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
29 December 2017

Share this article

Dave Rennie has made five changes to the Glasgow Warriors starting XV which lost 18-17 to Edinburgh Rugby at BT Murrayfield last Saturday, for tomorrow’s second 1872 Cup match at a sold-out Scotstoun Stadium.

Niko Matawalu

Nick Grigg, Niko Matawalu, Finn Russell, Kiran McDonald and Matt Fagerson come in, with the latter returning from injury having last played in the win against Leinster at the start of November.

Ruaridh Jackson continues at full-back, with Lee Jones and Niko Matawalu on either wing. Nick Grigg and Alex Dunbar combine in midfield, while Finn Russell and Ali Price link-up at half-back.

The front-row remains unchanged with Jamie Bhatti, Fraser Brown and Zander Fagerson packing down. Kiran McDonald comes into the second-row and partners captain Jonny Gray in the engine room.

Matt Fagerson comes in to start at Number 8, with Rob Harley and Matt Smith continuing on either flank.

Lock Greg Peterson and scrum-half George Horne are named amongst the replacements, having been added to the match day 23.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Dave Rennie said: “It was a substandard performance last Saturday and we were hugely disappointed. We had so many opportunities to put them out of it and we didn’t and they hurt us at the end.

“We know we have a lot of genuine support out there and we’re disappointed we put in a performance like that over Christmas. We need to be better on Saturday and we certainly want to give the supporters a lot more to sing about than we did last week.”

Glasgow Warriors team to play Edinburgh Rugby in the 1872 Cup, Guinness PRO14, live on Sky Sports, kick-off 3.15pm. You can also follow the action on Twitter @GlasgowWarriors. Glasgow Warriors appearances in brackets:

15. Ruaridh Jackson (127)
14. Lee Jones (66)
13. Nick Grigg (32)
12. Alex Dunbar (106)
11. Niko Matawalu (85)
10. Finn Russell (73)
9. Ali Price (51)

1. Jamie Bhatti (19)
2. Fraser Brown (70)
3. Zander Fagerson (61)
4. Kiran McDonald (5)
5. Jonny Gray (80) CAPTAIN
6. Robert Harley (171)
7. Matt Smith (11)
8. Matt Fagerson (14)


16. Pat MacArthur (163)
17. Oli Kebble (3)
18. Siua Halanukonuka (5)
19. Greg Peterson (23)
20. Chris Fusaro (130)
21. George Horne (10)
22. Peter Horne (128)
23. Huw Jones (2)

Not available due to injury: Brian Alainu’uise (knee), Adam Ashe (ankle), Callum Gibbins (achilles), Stuart Hogg (hip), Paddy Kelly (Achilles), Tommy Seymour (foot), Rory Hughes (shoulder), Sam Johnson (jaw), Lelia Masaga (knee), Leo Sarto (shoulder), Tim Swinson (hand), Ratu Tagive (achilles) and Ryan Wilson (ankle).

Share this article