Dragons team to face Ospreys

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
29 December 2017

Share this article

Head Coach Bernard Jackman makes eight changes to the side that suffered a narrow defeat to Cardiff Blues last weekend at a sold-out Rodney Parade.

Rynard Landman

Returning to the side, that will face Ospreys on New Year’s Eve, are fullback Carl Meyer, Sam Beard and Dan Babos who have all been selected following their recovery from injury, as well as Jared Rosser, Lloyd Fairbrother, Rynard Landman and Ben Roach.

In the back three Meyer joins wings Ashton Hewitt and Jared Rosser, as he replaces Hallam Amos who suffered an ankle injury during the Boxing Day match. The centre partnership sees Sam Beard return from injury as he joins Jack Dixon, whilst the half-backs are all change as youngsters Arwel Robson and Dan Babos get the nod.

The front row sees Lloyd Fairbrother return to the starting XV as he replaces Nicky Thomas and joins fellow prop Sam Hobbs and hooker Elliot Dee, The second row has one change made to it as Rynard Landman joins skipper Cory Hill with the back row also having one change made to it as flanker Ben Roach joins Aaron Wainwright and number 8 James Benjamin.

Jack Dixon, who has been named in the matchday XV once again for this Ospreys clash, commented; “I thought that we did well to come back into it at the end.

“I feel that we are going in the right direction and performances are coming now, we just need to keep growing as a team and the results will follow.”

He continued: “It’s a short turn around now as its straight into the Ospreys, so we have to bounce back. As a team, we are looking forward to the match on New Year’s Eve and hopefully, we will get a better result and then kick off into 2018 well.”

The replacements bench sees the inclusion of Jarryd Sage who will make his Dragons senior debut.

Dragons team to face Ospreys

15 Carl Meyer, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Sam Beard, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Jared Rosser, 10 Arwel Robson, 9 Dan Babos; 1 Sam Hobbs, 2 Elliot Dee, 3 Lloyd Fairbrother, 4 Cory Hill ©, 5 Rynard Landman, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 7 Ben Roach, 8 James Benjamin.

Replacements; Liam Belcher, Thomas Davies, Nicky Thomas, Robson Blake, James Sheekey, Sarel Pretorius, Angus O’Brien, Jarryd Sage.

Supporters are urged to act quickly if they want a seat as the Bisley Stand is almost sold out, with Hazell Stand tickets also selling quickly. You can buy online and save queueing by clicking here and selecting the print at home option.

Share this article