Southern Kings team to face Scarlets

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor
24 November 2017

Share this article

The Southern Kings team named by Head Coach Deon Davids today to take on Scarlets on Sunday shows a number of changes from the one that ran Ulster so close in their last fixture.

Oliver Zono

Recent loan-signing from the Lions Anthony Volmink has immediately been included in the run-on XV at right wing in place of veteran Alshaun Bock and there is a change at centre pairing too – although exactly what the final selection will be depends on the result of a late fitness test to be undergone by Martin Du Toit. Should he come through the test unscratched then Du Toit will line up in the number 12 jersey with Berton Klaasen alongside him but if he fails Klaasen will wear number 12 with Jacques Nel outside of him.

The exciting Oliver Zono is retained at flyhalf following a strong performance, particularly on attack, against Ulster. Kurt Coleman is the replacement flyhalf on the bench.

Amongst the forwards Coach Davids has elected to make just one change with Martinus Burger getting a start at flank in place of Jurie van Vuuren. Van Vuuren moves to the bench which includes Alandre van Rooyen, Pieter Scholtz and Harlon Klaassen.

Kings fans will be hoping that their team can build on their good performance against Ulster and that they will be even stronger after their two week break before taking on Scarlets. There is certainly no chance of them underestimating the Welsh team who are reigning GUINNESSPRO14 champions. They could hardly ask for more illustrious opposition for their first ever Sunday fixture at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium and they have called on their supporters to turn out in masse to cheer them on.

Tickets are available online at or at Ticketpro outlets. The match kicks off at 3pm and gates open at 1pm


15 Yaw Penxe
14 Michael Makase
13 Berton Klaasen / Jacques Nel
12 Martin Du Toit / Berton Klaasen
11 Anthonie Volmink
10 Oliver Zono
9 Rudi van Rooyen

1 Schalk Ferreira (C)
2 Stephan Coetzee
3 Rossouw De Klerk
4 Stephan Greeff
5 Bobby De Wee
6 Andisa Ntsila
7 Martinus Burger
8 Ruaan Lerm


16 Alandre Van Rooyen
17 Luvuyo Pupuma
18 Pieter Scholtz
19 Jurie van Vuuren
20 Dries van Schalkwyk
21 Godlen Masimla
22 Kurt Coleman
23 Harlon Klaasen

Share this article