Tovey to start as Coman hits 50

Guinness PRO12 Editor
31 March 2016

Share this article

There are four changes to the starting XV that edged Dragons at Rodney Parade on Sunday, to take on Zebre at BT Murrayfield on Friday (1 April, kick-off 7.35pm).

On-loan stand-off Jason Tovey, who arrived at the club last week, will start in the 10 jersey with Phil Burleigh moving to inside centre. Moving up from the bench, Sean Kennedy starts in the number 9 jersey.
Blair Kinghorn, who kicked off last week’s win with a long-range penalty, remains at fullback while Damien Hoyland and Tom Brown again occupy the wing berths.
Meanwhile there’s just one change in the pack with Mike Coman returning to lead the team on the blindside, earning his 50th cap for the club in the process.
Packing down in the front row again are Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford and WP Nel, with Anton Bresler and Ben Toolis making up the second row. Try scorer against Dragons Hamish Watson remains at openside and Cornell Du Preez runs out once more in the number 8 shirt.
There are three changes to the bench, with the return of Allan Dell and Will Helu, and Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, who is within two points of kicking 300pts for the club, moving to the replacements.
The capital side currently sit in seventh spot in the table with four matches remaining in the league. Last year at BT Murrayfield Edinburgh overcame Zebre 37-0, five tries from McInally, Fife, Ford and Grant (2). The last time the two sides met, at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi in October 2015, the outcome was reversed as Zebre won 19-11.
Head coach Alan Solomons said: "Every game is absolutely vital for us and it is imperative that we deliver on Friday night."
Friday’s fixture is crucial to the impact on the club’s aim to make the top six of the Guinness PRO12 and a place in the top tier of European competition next season.

Tickets can be purchased online, via phone on 0131 346 5180 and in person from the Ticket Centre in Roseburn Street.
Players not considered due to injury: Jack Cuthbert (knee), Grant Gilchrist (arm), John Hardie (neck/groin), Nasi Manu (neck), Fraser McKenzie (neck), Jamie Ritchie (hamstring), Matt Scott (arm), Andries Strauss (knee/ankle), Jade Te Rure (knee).

Edinburgh Rugby v Zebre
Friday 1 April 2016, BT Murrayfield, kick-off 7.35pm

14 HOYLAND Damien
13 ALLEN Michael
11 BROWN Tom
10 TOVEY Jason  
9   KENNEDY Sean
1 DICKINSON Alasdair
2 FORD Ross
6 COMAN Mike (c)
7 WATSON Hamish
8 DU PREEZ Cornell

16 MCINALLY Stuart
17 DELL Allan
19 TOOLIS Alex
20 BRADBURY Magnus
22 DEAN Chris
23 HELU Will

Share this article