Munster Team Named For Treviso

Guinness PRO12 Editor
26 February 2016

Share this article

Head Coach Anthony Foley makes six changes from the side that lost out narrowly to Glasgow Warriors in naming his side for this weekend’s Guinness PRO12 Round 16 fixture away to Benetton Treviso at the Stadio Monigo, ko 3pm (2pm Irish).

The first of three changes in the pack comes in the front row with hooker Mike Sherry returning to pack down between Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan.

Mark Chisholm is another returnee to the starting line-up with the Australian partnering captain Billy Holland in the second row and, following his successful rehabilitation of a rib injury, Dave O'Callaghan comes in to join Jack O'Donoghue and Robin Copeland in the back-row.

Three changes are also seen across the backline. Duncan Williams resumes his starting partnership with Ian Keatley in the half-backs, as does Francis Saili alongside Rory Scannell in the midfield. The New Zealander has completed his return to play protocols for a concussion sustained against Ospreys in Round 14.

Winger Gerhard van den Heever is the final change to the starting XV with Darren Sweetnam and Andrew Conway remaining on the opposite wing and full-back respectively.

Irish internationals Tommy O'Donnell and Dave Foley have been made available to the province for this weekend's game and are included amongst the replacements.

Meanwhile, should he make an appearance from the bench, development prop Peter McCabe will make his first competitive appearance for the province.

James Cronin reported a tight hamstring this week and was unavailable for selection.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, John Ryan; Mark Chisholm, Billy Holland Capt., Jack O'Donoghue, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Peter McCabe, Mario Sagario, Dave Foley, Tommy O'Donnell, Cathal Sheridan, Cian Bohane, David Johnston.

Share this article