O’Callaghan To Lead Munster

Guinness PRO12 Editor
31 October 2014

Share this article

With a number of international representatives unavailable for selection, Anthony Foley has rung the changes for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO12 clash away to Cardiff Blues, with the Head Coach naming Donncha O’Callaghan as captain.

In total, 11 personnel changes are made from last weekend's starting line-up that defeated Saracens 14-3 in Pool 1 of the European Champions Cup.
In the front row John Ryan returns from illness to start at loosehead alongside hooker Kevin O'Byrne, while BJ Botha retains his starting position at tighthead.
Munster's most capped player Donncha O'Callaghan returns to the matchday squad and will captain the side from the second row alongside Billy Holland who is promoted from the bench for this weekend's clash.
In the back row CJ Stander switches from 8 to 6, and following two strong performances for Munster A in the B&I Cup in which he scored two tries, Paddy Butler starts at 7.  Robin Copeland is also promoted to a starting position as he faces his old Cardiff team-mates from the back of the scrum at 8.
In the half backs Duncan Williams and JJ Hanrahan are paired from the start for the first time this season at scrum half and out half respectively, while impressive appearances in all Munster A games to date this season sees year two Academy player Rory Scannell on course to make his first senior competitive appearance, doing so alongside Andrew Smith in the midfield.
Having trained with Ireland at Carton House earlier this week, Andrew Conway remains on the right wing with Gerhard van den Heever coming in on the opposite flank, while Johne Murphy also returns to the starting line-up, completing the back three at full back.
Following his inclusion in the Ireland squad for the upcoming November Series, Stephen Archer provides front row cover on the bench and year two Academy second row Sean McCarthy is another in line to make his competitive debut after being named amongst the replacements.  Meanwhile, prop Alan Cotter and back-row Barry O'Mahony could also feature in the Guinness PRO12 for the first time this season.
Munster: Johne Murphy, Andrew Conway, Andrew Smith, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; JJ Hanrahan, Duncan Williams; John Ryan, Kevin O'Byrne, BJ Botha; Donncha O'Callaghan – capt, Billy Holland; CJ Stander, Paddy Butler, Robin Copeland
Replacements: Eusebio Guinazu, Alan Cotter, Stephen Archer, Sean McCarthy, Barry O'Mahony, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, Ronan O'Mahony
Cardiff Blues v Munster, Guinness PRO12 Round 7, BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park, Saturday November 1st – KO 5:15pm.

This game will be televised live on Sky Sports 2.

Share this article