Amorosino to start against Munster

Guinness PRO12 Editor
31 October 2014

Share this article

Argentina international Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino will make his Cardiff Blues debut after being named on the wing for the Guinness PRO12 clash against Munster Rugby at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 5.15pm).

Amorosino will make his first appearance for Blues as they return to league action after successive victories in Europe.

The flying winger is one of seven changes to the side that defeated Femi-CZ Rugby Rovigo in Italy last weekend. Gavin Evans is recalled in midfield, with Adam Thomas moving to outside centre.

A new-look front row sees hooker Matthew Rees captain the team and pack down alongside Sam Hobbs and Adam Jones. Jarrad Hoeata and Filo Paulo are reunited in the second row engine room.

Hot prospect Garyn Smith could also make his debut with the Blues Academy product named among the replacements.

Prop Taufa'ao Filise is also set to become a joint record holder for Blues. If he comes off the bench the front row giant will join T Rhys Thomas at the top of the all-time record appearance maker charts on 182 games.

Director of Rugby Mark Hammett said: "We go into the Munster fixture on the back of two bonus point victories in Europe, but we are certainly not getting carried away with those wins.

"Playing in Europe allowed us to build confidence, momentum and work on our structures and systems. Our challenge is to transfer that into the PRO12 against a powerhouse side in Munster.

"Munster are a challenging side who have a strong pick and go game, run hard and direct and are strong technically. We've got to be right on the money from the start because we will be tested all over the field.”

Cardiff Blues: 15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Richard Smith, 13 Adam Thomas, 12 Gavin Evans, 11 Lucas Amorosino, 10 Gareth Davies, 9 Lloyd Williams; 1Sam Hobbs, 2 Matthew Rees (c), 3 Adam Jones, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 5 Filo Paulo, 6 Josh Turnbull, 7 Josh Navidi, 8 Manoa Vosawai

Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Thomas Davies, 18 Taufa'ao Filise, 19Macauley Cook, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Lewis Jones, 22Garyn Smith, 23Dan Fish

Share this article