DFP Header Area

Hodge rings the changes for derby clash

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

5 May 2017

Hodge rings the changes for derby clash

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named his Edinburgh side for the final match of the Guinness PRO12 season against Glasgow Warriors tomorrow (Saturday 6 May) at Scotstoun – live on BBC 2 Scotland.

Hodge has made four personnel changes to the backline with Blair Kinghorn making his first start on the wing and Phil Burleigh returning to inside centre.

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Duncan Weir are both promoted from the bench to start as the half-back duo.

Ross Ford starts at hooker, while Jamie Ritchie and John Hardie – who this week penned a new deal with the capital club – are named on the flanks.

Hodge, said: “Glasgow are our biggest rivals and we need no bigger motivation than facing them on their home patch.

“We’ve had a good week of preparation going into this game and we’ve got some confidence following our late win against Dragons last week. Although we didn’t perform well on the whole in that game, we showed belief in our ability and a mental resilience to get the win.

“It’s been a challenging season, but we want to finish on a high while playing the open and exciting brand of rugby we’re capable of producing.”

Last week’s man of the match, Glenn Bryce, continues at fullback with try-scorers Damien Hoyland and Kinghorn, named on the wings. Chris Dean partners Burleigh in midfield.

Allan Dell and Simon Berghan pack down either side of Ford, with captain Grant Gilchrist and Ben Toolis – today named in the Guinness PRO12 Dream Team – continuing in the second-row.

Cornell du Preez retains his spot at number eight to join Ritchie and Hardie in the back-row.

Players unavailable due to injury: Magnus Bradbury (knee), Tom Brown (groin), Jack Cosgrove (ankle), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), Viliami Fihaki (knee), Nasi Manu (shoulder), Viliame Mata (shoulder), Stuart McInally (back), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (Achilles), Rory Sutherland (groin), Jason Tovey (shoulder), Hamish Watson (groin)

Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh Rugby
Guinness PRO12, Scotstoun, Saturday 6 May, kick-off 5.15pm – live on BBC 2 Scotland

15. Glenn Bryce

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Blair Kinghorn

10. Duncan Weir
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Allan Dell
2. Ross Ford
3. Simon Berghan
4. Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN
5. Ben Toolis
6. Jamie Ritchie
7. John Hardie
8. Cornell du Preez


16. Neil Cochrane
17. Murray McCallum
18. Kevin Bryce
19. Fraser McKenzie
20. George Turner
21. Sean Kennedy
22. Junior Rasolea
23. Rory Scholes