DFP Header Area

Edinburgh side named for final home game of the season

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

27 Apr 2017

Junior Rasolea

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named four changes to his starting line-up for Edinburgh Rugby’s final home game of the season against Dragons at Myreside (kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

The only change to the backline is made at centre where Junior Rasolea is set to start in the number 12 jersey.

George Turner makes his first start of the season at hooker, with Allan Dell joining him in the front-row.

Ben Toolis – who was pulled from the matchday squad in Treviso due to illness – returns to the second-row.

Back-row John Hardie returns from injury to take a place on the bench.

Acting Head Coach, Duncan Hodge, said: “We see tomorrow night’s match as a big opportunity to make amends for recent results.

“Our encounter down in Newport earlier in the season was a forward orientated battle in tough conditions, but both teams played some good running rugby and we hope for more of the same when they come to Myreside.

“With this being our final home game of the season, we’re also looking for a big performance to repay the fans. They have been with us every step of the way through a testing campaign and this is an opportunity for us all to thank them for their continued support.”

Glenn Bryce, Damien Hoyland and Rory Scholes continue as the back-three, with Chris Dean partnering Rasolea in midfield.

Nathan Fowles and Jason Tovey continue as the half-back duo, with the latter set to face his former club in Edinburgh for the first time.

Simon Berghan retains his starting spot in the front-row where he will be joined by Turner and Dell.

Toolis and Grant Gilchrist –who will captain the side – are named in the engine-room, with Viliame Mata and Hamish Watson continuing on the flanks and Cornell Du Preez at number eight.

Players unavailable due to injury: Magnus Bradbury (knee), Jack Cosgrove (ankle), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), Sean Kennedy (hand), Nasi Manu (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (Achilles), Rory Sutherland (groin)

Edinburgh Rugby v Dragons
Guinness PRO12, Myreside, Friday 28 April, kick-off 7.35pm – live on BBC ALBA

15. Glenn Bryce
14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Junior Rasolea
11. Rory Scholes
10. Jason Tovey
9. Nathan Fowles

1. Allan Dell
2. George Turner
3. Simon Berghan
4. Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN
5. Ben Toolis
6. Viliame Mata
7. Hamish Watson
8. Cornell du Preez


16. Ross Ford
17. Murray McCallum
18. Kevin Bryce
19. Fraser McKenzie
20. John Hardie
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Duncan Weir
23. Blair Kinghorn