DFP Header Area

Zebre team to face Connacht in re-arranged Round 3 clash

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

31 Mar 2017

Kayl Van Zyl

Parma, March 31, 2017 – The Zebre Rugby coaching staff have announced the line-up to host Connacht in the re-arranged third round clash on Saturday afternoon.

The original fixture was suspended in September due to bad weather at Stadio Lanfranchi, when the reigning champions were trailing the Italians 10-22 at half time.

This fixture is the only tournament fixture over the weekend dedicated to the quarter finals of the European Cups.

The Bianconeri are still in search of their first home win of the season and challenge the Irish side who, at the moment, are out of the playoffs with only five games left until the end of the regular season.

There are still important points to grab for qualification to the EPCR Champions Cup; Zebre are chasing Treviso and are six points away, while Connacht still has a small chance of catching the Scarlets in fifth place.

For tomorrow’s game, Zebre can call upon seven Italian internationals who were rested for last Saturday’s match against Munster: six of them as starters with only the full back Padovani on the bench.

There are 10 Azzurri in the starting line-up chosen by coach Jimenez, six in the forward unit and four in the backs one.

Compared to the Munster game seven days ago, there are seven changes chosen by the coaching staff of the Italian Northwest franchise.

Here’s Zebre line-up for Saturday, April 1 match at Stadio Lanfranchi in Parma for the re-arranged 3rd round of the Guinness PRO12 against the Irish side of Connacht. Kick off at 3.30 pm local time:

15 Dion Berryman
14 Kayle Van Zyl
13 Giulio Bisegni
12 Tommaso Boni*
11 Lloyd Greeff
10 Carlo Canna
9 Marcello Violi*

8 Federico Ruzza*
7 Derick Minnie
6 Joshua Furno*
5 George Biagi (cap)
4 Gideon Koegelenberg
3 Dario Chistolini
2 Tommaso D’Apice*
1 Andrea Lovotti*

Replacements :

16 Sidney Tobias
17 Andrea De Marchi
18 Pietro Ceccarelli
19 Valerio Bernabò
20 Oliviero Fabiani
21 Guglielmo Palazzani
22 Matteo Pratichetti
23 Edoardo Padovani*

Coach. Victor Jimenez

Not available for selection due to injury: Faialaga Afamasaga, Kurt Baker, Mattia Bellini, Tommaso Castello, Gabriele Di Giulio*, Andrea Manici*, Maxime Mbandà*, Johan Meyer, Bruno Postiglioni, Jacopo Sarto, Andries Van Schalkwyk, Giovanbattista Venditti*

*Former member of the Italian Rugby Union academy “Ivan Francescato” of Tirrenia.

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scottish Rugby Union)
Assistant Referees: Graeme Wells(Scottish Rugby Union) and Emanuele Tomò (Federazione Italiana Rugby)
No live tv coverage of the game.

Live text coverage of the game on www.pro12rugby.com and on Zebre Rugby twitter account with the official game hashtag #ZEBvCON