DFP Header Area

Scarlets unchanged for Leinster clash

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

3 Mar 2017

Hadleigh Parkes

Scarlets take on Guinness PRO12 table toppers Leinster at the RDS on Saturday looking to further consolidate their place in the top four as we head for the business end of the season.

Head Coach Wayne Pivac has named an unchanged starting XV to the one that secured a first victory in 14 years at Munster’s Thomond Park last Friday.

Scrum half Declan Smith is the only change to the 23 that headed to Limerick last weekend; Smith has been released from Wales U20s camp for the first v fourth camp with fellow scrum half Aled Davies back in Wales camp.

Scarlets will be looking to secure a second victory on the bounce to keep fifth placed Ulster at bay, who are currently only five points adrift with a game in hand.

Speaking ahead of the first v fourth clash head coach Wayne Pivac said; “For us it’s really important to maximise the opportunities in these two away Irish games. There are points on offer and we want to get as many as we can. That was a really big result for us against Munster and we’ve got another big challenge this weekend against Leinster.

“The result this weekend is huge for us. We don’t really want to be leaving it down to that last weekend because there’s enough riding on that game as it is without top four riding on it as well!

“There’s a long way still go but it’ll be feet on the ground this week and prepare as normal.

“These boys have got a proud record. They’re three from three at the moment; they’re desperate to go four from four in this phase. That’s what we’re trying to achieve. If we can do that it sets us up nicely for the run home. We really want to go there (RDS) and try and get the points.”

Scarlets team to take on Leinster at the RDS, Saturday 4th March, kick-off 7.35pm;

15 Johnny Mcnicholl, 14 Tom Williams, 13 Steff Hughes, 12 Hadleigh Parkes [c], 11 DTH van der Merwe, 10 Dan Jones, 9 Jonathan Evans, 1 Wyn Jones, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Werner Kruger, 4 Tom Price, 5 Tadhg Beirne, 6 Aaron Shingler, 7 James Davies, 8 Will Boyde

Replacements; Dafydd Hughes, Luke Garrett, Nicky Thomas, Rynier Bernardo, Morgan Allen, Declan Smith, Aled Thomas, Ioan Nicholas