DFP Header Area

Edinburgh Rugby name side to face Cardiff Blues

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

23 Feb 2017


Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named three personnel changes to his Edinburgh Rugby side to face Cardiff Blues at Myreside, in round 16 of the Guinness PRO12 (Friday 24 February, kick-off 7.05pm) – live on BBC.

The forward pack remains from last week’s loss to Leinster, with all amendments being made in the back division.

Blair Kinghorn comes into start in the back-three where he will be joined by Rory Scholes, who is named on the wing.

Jason Tovey starts at stand-off with Duncan Weir on national team duty.

Hodge, said: “There’s no hiding from the disappointment of last week’s result, but we need to put the defeat behind us and bounce back in tomorrow’s clash against Cardiff.

“We didn’t make the most of the chances we created last week and that hurt us. It’s crucial that we learn from those mistakes and are more clinical this time around.

“We’re back at home and that’ll prove as a big boost for the side going into this encounter.  We want to make amends for last week’s result in front of our supporters and give them something to cheer about.”

Damien Hoyland remains on the right wing and is joined by the incoming Kinghorn and Scholes in the back-three.

With the inclusion of Kinghorn, Glenn Bryce moves from full-back to start in midfield, where he will be joined by Chris Dean, who shifts from outside to inside centre.

Sam Hidalgo-Clyne continues at half-back alongside Tovey.

Murray McCallum and Jack Cosgrove will prop either side of captain Neil Cochrane, with Ben Toolis and Fraser McKenzie named in the second-row.

Magnus Bradbury and Jamie Ritchie occupy the flanks, with Cornell Du Preez set to don the number eight jersey.

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Cardiff Blues
Guinness PRO12, Myreside, Friday 24 February, kick-off 7.05pm – live on BBC Scotland

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Glenn Bryce
12. Chris Dean
11. Rory Scholes

10. Jason Tovey
9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

1. Jack Cosgrove
2. Neil Cochrane CAPTAIN
3. Murray McCallum
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. Jamie Ritchie
8. Cornell Du Preez


16. George Turner
17. Derrick Appiah
18. Kevin Bryce
19. Grant Gilchrist
20. Lewis Carmichael
21. Nathan Fowles
22. Junior Rasolea
23. Michael Allen

Players unavailable due to injury: Tom Brown (concussion), Phil Burleigh (hand), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), Viliami Fihaki (hand), Will Helu (hand), Nasi Manu (shoulder), Viliame Mata (knee), Stuart McInally (leg), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (Achilles), Rory Sutherland (groin), Kyle Whyte (knee)