DFP Header Area

Benetton Rugby Team Announcement v Leinster

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

10 Feb 2017

Alberto Sgarbi

On Sunday, February 12 at 13.30, Benetton Rugby, after a two-week break, will return to the Guinness Pro12 against Leinster Rugby, for the fourteenth round of the competition.

During this week the Benetton Rugby squad, because of many absences due to injuries and commitments of the Italian national team that will face Ireland tomorrow afternoon in the second round of the RBS Six Nations 2017, has been supplemented by as many as 11 athletes: Alejandro Almela, Paolo Bonfiglio, Filippo Ferrarini from Mogliano Rugby; Alberto Benettin, Federico Conforti, Enrico Francescato, Engjel Makelara, Luca Nostran, Jody Rossetto, Simone Rossi from Petrarca Rugby and finally Luca Petrozzi from the Rugby San Dona.

The group would have had chosen another three athletes of Petrarca Rugby: Andrea Bettin, Riccardo Michieletto and Jeremy Iese Su’a who are unfortunately unavailable.

Nine players from Benetton are involved with the national team: Tommaso Allan, Tommaso Benvenuti, Giorgio Bronzini, Angelo Esposito, Marco Fuser, Ornel Gega, Edoardo Gori, Luke McLean and Abraham Steyn.

Against Leinster, the Benetton line up will be David Odiete at full-back, on the wings Andrea Pratichetti and Luca Sperandio. Tommaso Iannone and the captain Alberto Sgarbi will be respectively right and left centre.

The half backs are Tito Tebaldi at scrum half and Ian McKinley at fly-half.

The front row will consist of Federico Zani, Luca Bigi and Tiziano Pasquali.

Locks will be Filippo Gerosa and Teofilo Paulo. Finally, the back row sees Marco Lazzaroni, Dean Budd and Robert Barbieri completing the XV chosen by Coach Crowley.

Here is the list of 23 that will face Leinster:

15 David Odiete
14 Andrea Pratichetti
13 Tommaso Iannone
12 Alberto Sgarbi (C)
11 Luca Sperandio
10 Ian McKinley
9 Tito Tebaldi

8 Robert Barbieri
7 Dean Budd
6 Marco Lazzaroni
5 Teofilo Paulo
4 Filippo Gerosa
3 Tiziano Pasquali
2 Luca Bigi
1 Federico Zani

16 Davide Giazzon
17 Nicola Quaglio
18 Matteo Zanusso
19 Francesco Minto
20 Guglielmo Zanini
21 Enrico Francescato
22 Michael Tagicakibau
23 Andrea Buondonno
Coach: Kieran Crowley

Unavailable: Tommaso Allan, Martin Banks, Marco Barbini, Tommaso Benvenuti, Giorgio Bronzini, Angelo Esposito, Simone Ferrari, Filippo Filippetto, Marco Fuser, Ornel Gega, Edoardo Gori, Jayden Hayward, Luke McLean, Luca Morisi, Abraham Steyn, Cherif Traore, Alessandro Zanni.

Referee: Dan Jones (WRU)
Assistant: Rhys Thomas (WRU), Andrea Spadoni (FIR)
Citing Commissioner: Stefano Marrama (FIR)

Benetton Rugby thanks the clubs Mogliano Rugby, Petrarca Rugby and Rugby San Donà for their cooperation.