DFP Header Area

Jones makes three changes for Italian clash

Guinness PRO14 Rugby Editor

5 Jan 2017

Sarel Pretorius

Newport Gwent Dragons’ Head Coach, Kingsley Jones has made three personnel changes to the team that faced the Ospreys last weekend at Rodney Parade.

The Men of Gwent take on Benetton Rugby Treviso, tomorrow (Friday) at 19:15, at Rodney Parade following a quick turnaround after the Welsh derby clash against the Ospreys on New Year’s Day.

There is one change to the back three as wing Tom Prydie is named with fellow wing Pat Howard and fullback Carl Meyer. The centre partnership also has one change made to it as Adam Warren partners Tyler Morgan. Fly-half Angus O’Brien retains his position, with South African scrum-half Sarel Pretorius named in the half-backs.

The front row remains unchanged with hooker Elliot Dee named alongside props Phil Price and Brok Harris. The second row sees Nick Crosswell and Welsh International Cory Hill named, with the back row also remaining unchanged as skipper Lewis Evans given the nod with fellow flanker Ollie Griffiths and number 8 Ed Jackson.

The replacements bench sees the return of Nic Cudd and Jack Dixon whilst Tavis Knoyle is named on the bench too. They join Rhys Buckley, Sam Hobbs, Lloyd Fairbrother, Rynard Landman and Dorian Jones.

Scrum-half Sarel Pretorius, who has been given a start for the Dragons after coming off the bench last weekend, commented: “This week I get a start and it’s a great opportunity for me, so I will do my best. I always try to bring a positive vibe and make a difference when I come on.

“We have a good record at home but we lost unfortunately to the Ospreys. However, it’s a new year now with new goals and we just need to stay positive. I think that we can achieve good things at the Dragons.”

Newport Gwent Dragons team to face Benetton Rugby Treviso

15 Carl Meyer, 14 Tom Prydie, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Adam Warren, 11 Pat Howard, 10 Angus O’Brien, 9 Sarel Pretorius; 1 Phil Price, 2 Elliot Dee, 3 Brok Harris, 4 Nick Crosswell, 5 Cory Hill, 6 Lewis Evans ©, 7 Ollie Griffiths, 8 Ed Jackson.

Replacements: Rhys Buckley, Sam Hobbs, Lloyd Fairbrother, Rynard Landman, Nic Cudd, Tavis Knoyle, Dorian Jones, Jack Dixon.