DFP Header Area

Hodge makes five changes to Edinburgh pack


3 Nov 2016

Duncan Hodge

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has named five changes to his starting side to face Ulster in tomorrow night’s Guinness PRO12 clash at BT Murrayfield (kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

All of the changes come in the forward pack, with Hodge refreshing the front-row and making two alterations in the back-five.

Neil Cochrane is named as captain and starts at hooker, with young props Jack Cosgrove and Murray McCallum set to join him in the front-row.

With Grant Gilchrist and John Hardie retained by the Scotland squad, Fraser McKenzie and Jamie Ritchie are named to start at lock and back-row respectively.

Scotland internationalist Duncan Weir is named as a replacement after recovering from a fractured jaw sustained against Munster in round four of the competition, with newly-signed prop Kyle Whyte set to debut if called upon from the bench.

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge said: “As a group we were very disappointed with the result and performance last week and we see tomorrow’s game as an opportunity to bounce back and make amends.

“We’ve taken the result on the chin, learned from the experience and worked hard in training to put things right ahead of this game.

“We know we’re facing a quality Ulster side packed with good players but we’re looking forward to running out in front of our home crowd and soaking up the challenge ahead.”

An unchanged backline sees Blair Kinghorn, Damien Hoyland and Tom Brown form as the back-three, with Chris Dean and Phil Burleigh in midfield.

Sean Kennedy and Jason Tovey continue as the half-back pairing.

Ben Toolis joins McKenzie in the second-row, while Viliame Mata and last week’s Man of the Match, Magnus Bradbury, are named in the back-row alongside the incoming Ritchie.

Unavailable due to injury: Simon Berghan (foot), Anton Bresler (groin), Kevin Bryce (shoulder), Viliami Fihaki (shoulder), Will Helu (hamstring), Nasi Manu (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (ankle), Rory Sutherland (groin).

Players retained by Scotland squad: Alasdair Dickinson, Allan Dell, Ross Ford, Grant Gilchrist, John Hardie and Hamish Watson.

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Ulster
Guinness PRO12, BT Murrayfield, Friday 4 November, kick-off 7.35pm

15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Tom Brown

10. Jason Tovey
9. Sean Kennedy

1. Jack Cosgrove
2. Neil Cochrane CAPTAIN
3. Murray McCallum
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Viliame Mata
7. Jamie Ritchie
8. Magnus Bradbury


16. Stuart McInally
17. Kyle Whyte
18. Felipe Arregui
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Cornell Du Preez
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Duncan Weir
23. Michael Allen