DFP Header Area

Four changes made to Edinburgh side for Zebre clash


27 Oct 2016

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge has made four personnel changes to his starting side for tomorrow’s Guinness PRO12 clash against Zebre at BT Murrayfield (kick-off 7.35pm).

All of the changes come in the forward pack, and are split equally between the front-three and the back-row.

Tighthead prop Felipe Arregui will make his first Edinburgh Rugby start as he replaces the injured WP Nel (neck) in the front-row, while hooker Stuart McInally makes a direct swap from the bench with Ross Ford.

In the back-row, Magnus Bradbury switches from blindside flanker to number eight with the incoming Viliame Mata donning the number six shirt in his first home start.

John Hardie comes in for Hamish Watson on the openside flank to join Mata and Bradbury in the back-row.

Acting Head Coach Duncan Hodge said: “We’ve named a fairly settled squad for this week as we go back into Guinness PRO12 action and look to build on the three consecutive wins.

“We’ve had a good week of training as positivity and confidence continues to build but our focus remains on continuing to perform and gather momentum in the championship.

“The support last week at BT Murrayfield was outstanding and we can’t wait to get back out in front of our home fans and put in another performance they can be proud of.”

The entire starting back division remains from last week’s 36-35 defeat of Harlequins.

The try-scoring trio of Blair Kinghorn, Damien Hoyland and Tom Brown continue as the back-three unit, while Chris Dean and Phil Burleigh remain as the centre pairing.

Sean Kennedy and Jason Tovey start at scrum-half and stand-off respectively.

Allan Dell – who was a late call-up into last week’s starting side – joins McInally and Arregui in the front-row, while the lock-pairing of captain Grant Gilchrist and Ben Toolis are named in the middle-row.

Players unavailable due to injury: Nick Beavon (neck), Simon Berghan (foot), Anton Bresler (groin), Kevin Bryce (shoulder), Alasdair Dickinson (hamstring), Viliami Fihaki (sternum), Nasi Manu (shoulder), Willem Nel (neck), Rory Sutherland (groin), Sasa Tofilau (wrist), Duncan Weir (jaw)

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Zebre
Guinness PRO12, BT Murrayfield, Friday 28 October, kick-off 7.35pm

15. Blair Kinghorn
14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Tom Brown
10. Jason Tovey
9. Sean Kennedy

1. Allan Dell
2. Stuart McInally
3. Felipe Arregui
4. Ben Toolis
5. Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN
6. Viliame Mata
7. John Hardie
8. Magnus Bradbury


16. Ross Ford
17. Jack Cosgrove
18. Murray McCallum
19. Fraser McKenzie
20. Cornell Du Preez
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Michael Allen
23. Glenn Bryce