DFP Header Area

Jones makes changes for Munster clash


16 Sep 2016

Carl MEyer

Newport Gwent Dragons take on Munster Rugby this Saturday afternoon, KO 17:15, at Rodney Parade in Round 3 of the GUINNESS PRO12 championship.

Head coach, Kingsley Jones has made five personnel changes and one positional change to the team that beat Zebre last weekend.

Fullback Carl Meyer returns to play, after recovering from concussion against Ulster, he joins the back three alongside wings Hallam Amos and Pat Howard. The centre partnership sees Tyler Morgan retain his position with Jack Dixon getting the nod from Jones. The half backs remain unchanged for the third week as fly-half Nick Macleod and scrum-half Sarel Pretorius are named.

The front row sees two changes made as prop Sam Hobbs is named alongside Brok Harris. Hooker Rhys Buckley joins them in the starting XV as Thomas Rhys Thomas continues with his recovery after suffering a sore neck during the Zebre match. The second row remains unchanged as Nick Crosswell and Rynard Landman are given the nod. The back row includes flanker Ollie Griffiths who joins Lewis Evans and Ed Jackson.

The replacements bench sees Darran Harris, Thomas Davies, Craig Mitchell, Cory Hill and Adam Warren join James Thomas, Charlie Davies and Angus O’Brien.

Dragons backs coach, Shaun Connor commented: “Munster have changed the way they defend and you can see that they have a South African in charge because they are very well structured and organised.

“They are the lowest passing team in the league in the first two games and probably the highest for kicks; their game is about putting pressure on and playing in the right areas.

“It’s effective for them and they try to get you in your half and squeeze you. We saw from the Scarlets game that when they get into your 22 they are very powerful and effective.”

Newport Gwent Dragons team to face Munster

15 Carl Meyer, 14 Pat Howard, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Nick Macleod, 9 Sarel Pretorius; 1 Sam Hobbs, 2 Rhys Buckley, 3 Brok Harris, 4 Nick Crosswell, 5 Rynard Landman, 6 Lewis Evans ©, 7 Ollie Griffiths, 8 Ed Jackson.

Replacements: Darran Harris, Thomas Davies, Craig Mitchell, Cory Hill, James Thomas, Charlie Davies, Angus O’Brien, Adam Warren.

Tickets are still available for our Saturday afternoon kick off tomorrow against Munster, and you can buy them by clicking here or by calling 01633 674990.