DFP Header Area

Solomons rings changes for Scarlets clash


8 Sep 2016

michael allen

Heach Coach Alan Solomons has made five changes to his starting Edinburgh Rugby side for the club’s first home game of the Guinness PRO12 season, against Scarlets tomorrow night (Friday 9 September, kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

Michael Allen starts on the wing in place of Rory Scholes, while Phil Burleigh returns to start at inside-centre, meaning Solomoni Rasolea moves to the bench.

In the pack, two of the three remaining changes are made in the back-row where John Hardie comes in for Hamish Watson and Magnus Bradbury takes the number 8 shirt in place of the injured Nasi Manu (ribs).

The final change to the starting forwards is at lock, where Ben Toolis is promoted from the bench for Fraser McKenzie.

After making his Edinburgh Rugby debut last week, Glenn Bryce continues at full-back and is joined by Tom Brown and Allen in the back-three.

Sasa Tofilau continues at outside-centre alongside Burleigh, while Duncan Weir and Nathan Fowles retain their respective spots at stand-off and scrum-half.

The all-international front-row of Rory Sutherland, Ross Ford and WP Nel continue to front the pack.

Grant Gilchrist captains the team and partners Toolis in the second-row, while Jamie Ritchie remains on the blindside flank to accompany fellow loose forwards Hardie and Bradbury.

Scotland internationalist Kevin Bryce will make his competitive debut for the capital club if called upon from the bench, which would also mark his first professional appearance at tighthead prop. Allan Dell is also brought into the matchday squad.

Solomons said: “The players are all looking forward to playing at home and are relishing the challenge that the Scarlets will present.”

Players not available due to injury: Alasdair Dickinson (hamstring), Simon Berghan (foot), Anton Bresler (groin), Nasi Manu (ribs), Jason Tovey (wrist), Will Helu (hamstring), Damien Hoyland (groin)

Edinburgh Rugby team to play Scarlets
Guinness PRO12, BT Murrayfield, Friday 9 September, kick-off 7.35pm – live on BBC ALBA

15. Glenn Bryce

14. Michael Allen
13. Sasa Tofilau
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Tom Brown

10. Duncan Weir
9. Nathan Fowles

1. Rory Sutherland
2. Ross Ford
3. WP Nel
4. Ben Toolis
5. Grant Gilchrist CAPTAIN
6. Jamie Ritchie
7. John Hardie
8. Magnus Bradbury

16. Stuart McInally
17. Allan Dell
18. Kevin Bryce
19. Fraser McKenzie
20. Hamish Watson
21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne
22. Blair Kinghorn
23. Solomoni Rasolea