DFP Header Area

Munster Side For Cardiff Named


8 Sep 2016


Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus makes just two changes from the side that defeated Scarlets for tomorrow night’s Guinness PRO12 encounter with Cardiff Blues in Irish Independent Park, Cork. KO 7.35pm.

In an unchanged pack, James Cronin, Niall Scannell and John Ryan form the front row with Dave Foley and captain Billy Holland again completing the tight five.

Dave O’Callaghan remains at blindside with last weekend’s man-of-the-match Tommy O’Donnell and Jack O’Donoghue continuing at openside and number 8 respectively.

The first change is seen in the half-backs with Ian Keatley coming in to partner Duncan Williams.

Rory Scannell and academy centre Dan Goggin continue in midfield with the final change seen at full back where Andrew Conway makes his first appearance of the season in joining Ronan O’Mahony and Darren Sweetnam in the back three.

Named amongst the replacements, returning international CJ Stander, hooker Duncan Casey and academy full back Stephen Fitzgerald are all in line to make their first PRO12 appearances of the season. Casey spent much of last season rehabbing a pectoral tear and if sprung from the bench will make his first competitive appearance since November of last year.

Tyler Bleyendaal was not available for selection after reporting a mild calf strain.

Munster XV: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Billy Holland – capt.; Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Donnacha Ryan, CJ Stander, Tomás O’Leary, Cian Bohane, Stephen Fitzgerald.

Tickets will be available to buy on the night.  Ticket prices – Adult tickets from €20 and Family tickets from €40 (2 adults & 2 juniors) can also be purchased online via Ticketmaster.ie, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 0818 719 300.