DFP Header Area

Davies returns to Scarlets starting line-up


8 Sep 2016


Scarlets head coach Wayne Pivac has made seven changes, which include three positional changes, to the side that will take on Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield on Friday evening in the second round of the GUINNESS PRO12 campaign.

Jonathan Davies is named in the centre alongside fellow Welsh international Scott Williams as he makes his first competitive start for the region since May 2014. Hadleigh Parkes moves to the wing with DTH van der Merwe unavailable due to illness.

Aled Davies replaces Gareth Davies at scrum half whilst Rhys Patchell, Steff Evans and Liam Williams – one of round one’s top performers making 166 metres and 20 carries, retain their places in the backline.

Wyn Jones comes in to the starting line-up with Dylan Evans missing out through injury, giving new loan signing Luke Garrett named on the replacements bench. Ken Owens, Werner Kruger, Jake Ball and Aaron Shingler retain their place with David Bulbring coming in to the second row.

Olympic silver medalist James Davies makes a return to the openside flank after his heroics in Rio with John Barclay moving to number 8.

Scarlets Head Coach Wayne Pivac said; “The positives outweighed the negatives. The loss and the scoreline were the huge negatives. It was pleasing and positive to see us dominate both possession and field position in the early exchanges but we let the pressure valve off with a few penalties. Some calls were 50/50; sometimes they go your way sometimes they don’t.

“The intent was there to play but we overplayed at times. We’ll look at how we vary that. We have options open to us and we’re exploring those.

“I’d rather be one of the teams who got off to a flying start but we knew our game was going to be an arm wrestle. We know what our focus is and what we’re doing. Round one always throws up some interesting results.”

Scarlets team to take on Edinburgh, at BT Murrayfield, on Friday 9th September, kick-off 7.35pm;

15 Liam Williams, 14 Hadleigh Parkes, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Aled Davies, 1 Wyn Jones, 2 Ken Owens [c], 3 Werner Kruger, 4 Jake Ball, 5 David Bulbring, 6 Aaron Shingler, 7 James Davies, 8 John Barclay

Replacements: Ryan Elias, Luke Garrett, Peter Edwards, Tadhg Beirne, Josh Macleod, Gareth Davies, Dan Jones, Aled Thomas

Unavailable for selection: Tom Williams (shoulder), Jack Condy (knee), Tom Price (elbow), Gareth Owen (shoulder), Rob Evans (wrist), Samson Lee (shoulder), Dylan Evans (shoulder), DTH van der Merwe (illness), Lewis Rawlins (illness), Jonathan Evans (illness)