DFP Header Area

Naoupu and White return for derby clash

Guinness PRO12 Editor

21 Dec 2012

Connacht Rugby resumes their RaboDirect PRO12 campaign tomorrow when they welcome Munster to the Sportsground for the 5:15pm kick off.

Head Coach Eric Elwood has made two changes to the starting XV as Connacht, who have won two of their last three inter-provincial encounters, pursue a clean sweep of 2012 home victories against the three other provinces.

The back line remains unchanged while up front, Ronan Loughney makes way for Nathan White who captains the side tomorrow.

Versatile forward George Naoupu will start in the second row alongside Mike McCarthy.

Veteran lock Michael Swift and 22-year-old centre Eoin Griffin have both returned from injury and are named on the bench for tomorrow's derby clash.

Eoghan Grace, who has captained the Connacht Eagles this season, scoring a try in last weekend's B&I Cup victory over Cross Keys, is also named on the bench.

Connacht XV

15. Robbie Henshaw
14. Tiernan O'Halloran
13. Danie Poolman
12. Dave McSharry
11. Fetu'u Vainikolo
10. Dan Parks
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Brett Wilkinson
2. Jason Harris-Wright
3. Nathan White (captain)
4. George Naoupu
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Andrew Browne
7. Johnny O'Connor
8. Eoin McKeon

Replacements (from):

16. Ethienne Reynecke
17. Denis Buckley
18. Ronan Loughney
19. Michael Swift
20. Eoghan Grace
21. Paul O'Donohoe
22. Matthew Jarvis
23. Eoin Griffin

Munster: D Hurley; J Murphy, C Laulala, J Downey, L O'Dea; I Keatley, P Stringer; D Kilcoyne, M Sherry, S Archer; D O'Callaghan, B Holland; P Butler, T O'Donnell, J Coughlan capt.

Replacements: S Henry, W du Preez, BJ Botha, D Foley, S Dougall, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, D Barnes.
At Sportsground, 5.15pm.
Referee: Dudley Phillips (IRFU, 26th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Paul Haycock, Simon McDowell (both IRFU)
Citing Commissioner: Murray White (IRFU)
TMO: Marshall Kilgore (IRFU)
Live on TG4