DFP Header Area

Provisional Ulster squad named for Treviso

Guinness PRO12 Editor

21 Nov 2012

The Ulster Rugby management have named a 24 man squad ahead of Friday’s RaboDirect PRO12 game against Treviso (kick off 6.05pm GMT).

It is the Province’s second game in Italy in a week, following the narrow 25-27 win over Zebre on Sunday.

There are few changes in the panel except for the inclusion of young Academy back row Conor Joyce. The Malone clubman made one previous appearance in the 2011 Boxing Day defeat to Leinster.

Ireland squad members Declan Fitzpatrick and Tom Court have remained in Italy after being released for the Zebre game and will compete with John Afoa and Callum Black for selection in the front row.

Treviso have slipped to four straight defeats in all competitions since their 27-22 victory over Edinburgh at Murrayfield on 5th October. Treviso have lost their last seven encounters with Irish provinces.

The Ulstermen have won their last five away games and have never lost in nine previous visits to Italy in all competitions. The two sides have met on eight previous occasions with Ulster’s only defeat being 23-12 at Ravenhill in October 2011.

The game will be televised on BBC NI (red button).

Ulster squad to face Treviso, RaboDirect PRO12, Friday 23rd November, Stadio Monigo, (KO 6.05pm GMT):

Forwards (14)
Rob Herring, Nigel Brady, Callum Black, Declan Fitzpatrick, Tom Court, John Afoa, Neil McComb, James Simpson, Robbie Diack, Conor Joyce, Mike McComish, Ali Birch, Roger Wilson, Nick Williams.

Backs (10)
Michael Heaney, Blane McIlroy, Niall O’Connor, Stuart Olding, Paddy Wallace, Jared Payne, Michael Allen, Chris Cochrane, Ricky Andrew, Peter Nelson.