DFP Header Area

Zebre Team to face Scarlets in RaboDirect PRO12 Round 8

Guinness PRO12 Editor

1 Nov 2012

Zebre’s coaching staff – composed by forwards coach Troiani and backs coach Troncon and directed by Gajan – has selected its side for the Saturday night game at Parc Y Scarlets against the Welsh franchise of RaboDirect PRO12

Among the roster of Zebre are unaivalable for the 8th round of the Celtic League the five internationals selected by Italy coach Brunel for the November test matches : Bergamasco, Geldenhuys, Giazzon, Orquera and Venditti. Few differences from the starting line-up selected for last friday clash with Munster: captain Garcia and scrum-half Martinelli are not travelling to Wales due to injuries suffered in last game at Thomond Park while Perugini is ruled out by a fever.

Zebre’s skipper for the game will be Cristiano: the flanker, at his 5th cap in the RaboDirect PRO12, is the third skipper of the franchise official games history after Garcia and Geldenhuys. Official one Bortolami is still recovering from his shoulder surgery. Three local players born in Parma area will start defending “white & black” colours : they are flanker Ferrarini, hooker Manici and scrum-half Tebaldi.

Other three players recovered from their injuries and are back between the capped ones. Two of them, Pace and Buso, will earn a competitive start in the backs.

Here’s Zebre line-up for saturday game in Llanelli for the 8th round of RaboDirect PRO12. Kick off at Parc Y Scarlets at 6.30 pm local time:
15 Ruggero TREVISAN*
14 David ODIETE*
11 Samuele PACE
10 Paolo BUSO
7 Filippo CRISTIANO (cap)
6 Filippo FERRARINI*
5 Filippo CAZZOLA*
4 Josh SOLE
2 Andrea MANICI*
1 Matias AGUERO

Replacements :
16 Andrea DE MARCHI
17 Luciano LEIBSON
18 Carlo FAZZARI*
19 Emiliano CAFFINI*
20 Nicola BELARDO*
21 Alberto CHIESA*
22 Leonardo SARTO*
23 Alberto BENETTIN*

Coach : Christian GAJAN

* Former member of the Italian Rugby Union academy "Ivan Francescato" of Tirrenia.

Not considered due to injury: Marco BORTOLAMI, Paolo BUSO, Nicola CATTINA, Alberto CHILLON*, Andrea DE MARCHI, Samuele PACE, Sinoti SINOTI, Roberto QUARTAROLI*

Referee: Dudley Phillips (IRFU, 29th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Greg Morgan, Alan Jenkins (both WRU)
Citing Commissioner: Richard Gwynn (WRU)
TMO: Tony Rowlands (WRU)
Live on Sportitalia 2 in Italy