DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Cardiff Blues…

Guinness PRO12 Editor

26 Oct 2012

Leinster have named an all Irish starting XV with their team to face the Cardiff Blues in Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash in the RDS (KO: 6.30pm).

Jonathan Sexton makes his 98th appearance and is just five points away from passing the 500 point career mark in league games. He partners Eoin Reddan (who is set to make his 70th appearance) at half back.

Gordon D’Arcy links up with Brian O’Driscoll in the midfield, while David Kearney will make his 40th appearance and start his first game of the season after being named on the right wing.

Up front, Devin Toner locks down at second row alongside captain Leo Cullen. Hooker Richardt Strauss, who was named in the Ireland panel for the first time earlier this week for the forthcoming November series, is named in the front row alongside international props Cian Healy and Mike Ross.

Back-row forward Rhys Ruddock, meanwhile, takes his place in the Senior panel for the first time this season and is named amongst a replacements bench which includes Isaac Boss and Sean Cronin.

There will be lots of Halloween activity around the ground on Saturday including a Haunted House, fancy dress competition and special firework display! Come down in your best Halloween costume to support the team and be in with a chance to win some great prizes on the night. With all of this and many other Halloween games it is set to be a spooky night down at the RDS! Gates open at 5pm.

Ticket sales for Saturday’s game are approaching the 17,000 mark and are still on sale from www.leinsterrugby.ie , the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) as well as Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.


15: Ian Madigan
14: David Kearney
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Fergus McFadden
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Devin Toner
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Jordi Murphy
8: Jamie Heaslip


16: Sean Cronin
17: Heinke van der Merwe
18: Jamie Hagan
19: Damian Browne
20: Rhys Ruddock
21: Isaac Boss
22: Brendan Macken
23: Fionn Carr

REFEREE: Ian Davies (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: David Wilkinson, Ollie Hodges (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Gary Conway (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: Robbie O’Flynn (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU)