DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Connacht…

Guinness PRO12 Editor

27 Sep 2012

The Leinster team to face Connacht in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 interprovincial derby in the Sportsground, Galway (KO: 8pm, Live TG4) has been named.

Ireland international Rob Kearney will make his first seasonal start – and 121st Leinster appearance – and the Louth man is named in a backline which also includes Fergus McFadden who starts on the right wing.

Gordon D’Arcy will be partnered by Brendan Macken, who scored a brace of tries last weekend, with Isa Nacewa moving to the left wing. John Cooney links up with Ian Madigan at half back.

In the pack, Shane Jennings leads the team and he is joined in the pack by Ben Marshall and Quinn Roux – with the South African lock set to make his 2nd appearance for the province.

Heinke van der Merwe comes into the front row, while the province can call on an all-Ireland international front row off the bench in ex Connacht hooker Sean Cronin, Cian Healy and Mike Ross.

15: Rob Kearney
14: Fergus McFadden
13: Brendan Macken
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Isa Nacewa
10: Ian Madigan
9: John Cooney

1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Thomas Sexton
3: Jamie Hagan
4: Quinn Roux
5: Tom Denton
6: Ben Marshall
7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
8: Leo Auva’a

16: Sean Cronin
17: Cian Healy
18: Mike Ross
19: Devin Toner
20: Jordi Murphy
21: Luke McGrath
22: Noel Reid
23: Fionn Carr

REFEREE: Peter Fitzgibbon (IRFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: David Wilkinson, Michael Black (both IRFU), TMO: Seamus Flannery (IRFU)