DFP Header Area

Connacht announce team to take on Leinster in their first inter-pro game

Guinness PRO12 Editor

27 Sep 2012

Eric Elwood has made a number of changes to his side as they prepare to take on the European Champions Leinster tomorrow night in the Sportsground.

Robbie Henshaw replaces an injured Gavin Duffy in the fullback position. 19 year old Henshaw earned his first competitive start in Glasgow last week and had made a notable impact from the bench in all three previous league matches.

Both Tiernan O'Halloran and Fetu'u Vainikolo return to their starting positions on the wing while Eoin Griffin joins Dave McSharry in the centre.

Dan Parks makes a welcome return to rugby and his debut for the province tomorrow night as out half.

Up front, Brett Wilkinson makes way for Denis Buckley as loosehead prop while former Leinster prop Nathan White, who also captains the side, starts again as tighthead prop.

Michael Swift, who earns his 150th league appearance on the eve of this derby game, slots back into the second row and is joined by fellow second rower Mike McCarthy.

Eoin McKeon who started the last two weeks in the number 8 position moves to blindside flanker and joins Johnny O'Connor and George Naoupu in the back row.

KO for Connacht v Leinster is 8pm in the Sportsground.

Connacht XV

15. Robbie Henshaw
14. Tiernan O'Halloran
13. Eoin Griffin
12. Dave McSharry
11. Fetu'u Vainikolo
10. Dan Parks
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Adrian Flavin
3. Nathan White (captain)
4. Michael Swift
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Eoin McKeon
7. Johnny O'Connor
8. George Naoupu

Replacements (from):

16. Jason Harris-Wright
17. Brett Wilkinson
18. Ronan Loughney
19. Dave Gannon
20. Willie Faloon
21. Dave Moore
22. Miah Nikora
23. Mata Fifita