DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Edinburgh…

Guinness PRO12 Editor

21 Sep 2012

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Saturday evening’s RaboDirect PRO12 encounter in the RDS (KO: 6.15pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen skippers a side which shows several changes to the side which defeated Benetton Treviso away last weekend. Up front Sean Cronin comes into the front row in place of Richardt Strauss and he will line up alongside international colleagues Cian Healy (making his 98thLeinster appearance) and Mike Ross.

Cullen partners Tom Denton who will make his home debut for the province, with Jamie Heaslip, Shane Jennings and Kevin McLaughlin continuing in the back row.

Wexford’s Gordon D’Arcy makes his first start of the season and he will line up at centre alongside Brian O’Driscoll who scored his 55thcareer try for the province on what was his 160thappearance. O’Driscoll now lies one ahead of D’Arcy in third place and four behind Denis Hickie’s tally of 59 tries. Shane Horgan leads the all-time list on 71 tries.

Isa Nacewa returns to the starting line-up and he is named in the back three alongside Fionn Carr and Andrew Conway.

Jonathan Sexton’s 14 point haul in Italy pushed him past the 800 point mark for Leinster (808 points) and the St. Mary’s College out-half will make his 94thappearance on Saturday, partnering Eoin Reddan at half back.

Saturday’s game marks the province’s annual ‘Kids Takeover’ where younger supporters get the chance to be involved in the running of matchday. Amongst lots of other events there will be 15 mascots leading the team out, a lucky supporter reading out the teams, the chance to make the presentation of the match ball and much more around the province.

Ticket sales have passed the 16,400 mark and are still on sale from www.leinsterrugby.ie, the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) as well as Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

15: Isa Nacewa
14: Andrew Conway
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Fionn Carr
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy
2: Sean Cronin
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Tom Denton
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip

16: Tom Sexton
17: Heinke van der Merwe
18: Jamie Hagan
19: Devin Toner
20: Jordi Murphy
21: John Cooney
22: Ian Madigan
23: Brendan Macken

REFEREE:Neil Hennessy (WRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Simon McDowell, Richard Kerr (both IRFU), 4THOFFICIAL: Ed Kenny (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5THOFFICIAL: Danny Wallace (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Brian MacNeice (IRFU)