DFP Header Area

Scotland stars set to return for Edinburgh

Guinness PRO12 Editor

29 Aug 2012

Edinburgh Rugby are set to unleash their Scotland stars on two-time European champions Munster this Saturday at Murrayfield in the opening RaboDirect PRO12 match of the season (kick-off 8pm).

The game will be the first taste of competitive action for a number of the players since Scotland’s three-Test tour of Australasia, where they helped steer the nation to historic wins over Australia, Fiji and Samoa.

Top try-scorer Tim Visser, captain Greig Laidlaw, Nick De Luca, Ross Ford [Scotland] and Ross Rennie could all feature in the big clash, while David Denton rejoins the extended squad for the first time since sustaining the ankle injury that ruled him out of the summer tour.

Head coach Michael Bradley, who represented the Irish province in the 80s and 90s, will confirm the make-up of the team on Friday morning as the club seek a repeat of last season’s 29-14 win.

He said: “The excitement is really ramping up ahead of our first competitive match of the season and, while we’ve trained as a full squad for large parts of the summer, it’s fantastic to select from our entire roster in a competitive context.

“The returning players, combined with those who have been working tirelessly for 12-weeks through the summer, throws up some serious competition across all positions and makes for an exciting prospect for the first match of the season.

“We have some very talented individuals who were part of some great feats for this club last season and we’re all looking forward to getting stuck in to the new season and building on a landmark year.”

Provisional Edinburgh Rugby squad to play Munster at Murrayfield Stadium on Saturday 1 September (kick-off 8pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

Backs: Greig Tonks, Tom Brown, Mike Penn, Lee Jones, Nick De Luca, Ben Atiga, John Houston, Tim Visser, Gregor Hunter, Harry Leonard, Greig Laidlaw, Chris Leck, Richie Rees.

Forwards: Allan Jacobsen, John Yapp, Ross Ford, Andy Titterrell, Geoff Cross, Willem Nel, Grant Gilchrist, Robert McAlpine, Perry Parker, Sean Cox, David Denton, Ross Rennie, Roddy Grant, Stuart McInally, Dimitri Basilaia.

Not selected: Ben Cairns (knee), Steven Lawrie (knee), Matt Scott (pre-season), Netani Talei (hamstring strain), Steven Turnbull (shoulder).