Leinster team to face the Ospreys…

Guinness PRO12 Editor

25 May 2012

The Leinster team to face the Ospreys in Sunday’s RaboDirect PRO12 Final in the RDS (KO: 4pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen leads a team which includes 13 Ireland internationals for the province’s third meeting of the season against the Welsh side. Cullen partners Devin Toner at second row with the Moynalvey man set to make his 97th appearance – and his 30th this season.

There are several changes to the pack with Heinke van der Merwe joining Ireland duo Sean Cronin and Mike Ross in the front row. Number eight Jamie Heaslip forms an experienced back row alongside Shane Jennings and Kevin McLaughlin – who makes his 75th Leinster appearance, while Sean O’Brien (knee) is an absentee.

The backline is unchanged from the side that started last weekend’s Heineken Cup final with Eoin Reddan linking up with Jonathan Sexton at half back and Gordon D’Arcy continuing at centre alongside Brian O’Driscoll.

Cian Healy (dead leg) will face a late fitness test, while All Black Brad Thorn is named amongst a strong replacements bench for Sunday’s sold out encounter.


15: Rob Kearney
14: Fergus McFadden
13: Brian O'Driscoll
12: Gordon D'Arcy
11: Isa Nacewa
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Sean Cronin
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Devin Toner
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip


16: Richardt Strauss
17: Cian Healy/Jack McGrath
18: Nathan White
19: Brad Thorn
20: Dominic Ryan
21: John Cooney
22: Ian Madigan
23: David Kearney

REFEREE: Romain Poite (FFR), ASSISTANT REFEREES: George Clancy (IRFU), Neil Paterson (SRU), TMO: Giulio de Santis (FIR)