DFP Header Area

Connacht XV to take on the Warriors

Guinness PRO12 Editor

4 May 2012

Connacht Rugby have announced the starting lineup that will take on the Glasgow Warriors tomorrow evening (Saturday 5th May – Firhill ko 19.30)

There are just three changes to personnel and one positional shift from the side that beat Aironi in the Sportsground two weeks ago as Head Coach Eric Elwood has chosen not to tinker with the winning formulae too much. In the pack hooker Adrian Flavin replaces Ethienne Reynecke in the front row and the departing Ray Ofisa moves to the bench making way for Johnny O'Connor. In the backline rising star Eoin Griffin's return to outside centre means Kyle Tonetti moves to the right wing while speedster James Loxton is promoted to the bench.

Connacht are chasing a best league finish of eight position and a win over play-off contenders Glasgow will secure that historic result for the club. Glasgow have a lot to play for though in their last match at Firhill and Connacht's talismanic back-rower John Muldoon is under no illusions about the scale of the challenge that lies ahead:

"Glasgow are riding high in the league at the moment, their coach is leaving, they're leaving Firhill and they are also gunning for a top four position so we know the pressure's on them and they'll be coming out all guns blazing but at the same time we're looking to cause an upset and finish a record 8th, that would be a very good return for us this season."

"We're really looking to finish on a high and saying goodbye to some great servants of the club, that goes for everyone, from fella's like Henry (Fa'afili) who has been here for just a year to the likes of Ray (Ofisa) who's been here for over six years and we'd like to give them the send-off they deserve, and on top of that wish (CEO) Gerry Kelly the best of luck in his retirement as well so we're really looking to a big performance on Saturday."

Connacht XV to face Glasgow Warriors (Saturday 5th May – Firhill kick-off 19.30 live on TG4)
15 Gavin Duffy (C)
14 Kyle Tonetti
13 Eoin Griffin
12 Henry Fa'afili
11 Tiernan O'Halloran
10 Miah Nikora
09 Frank Murphy
01 Denis Buckley
02 Adrian Flavin
03 Ronan Loughney
04 Michael Swift
05 Mike McCarthy
06 John Muldoon
07 Johnny O'Connor
08 George Naoupu

16 Dermot Murphy
17 Stewart Maguire
18 Rodney Ah You
19 Mick Kearney
20 Ray Ofisa
21 Paul O'Donohoe
22 Matthew Jarvis
23 James Loxton