DFP Header Area

Buckley only change to settled Connacht side

Guinness PRO12 Editor

20 Apr 2012

Connacht Rugby have announced the XV to face Aironi in the last home game of the season (The Sportsground – Saturday 21st April – kick-off 17.00)

The only change to last week's starting side is Denis Buckley who joins the front-row in place of the injury Brett Wilkinson. Brett picked up a calf strain in last week's victory over Ulster and will now face a race against time to be fit for Ireland's summer tour to New Zealand.

Recent victories over the Dragons and Ulster have left Eric Elwood's side well placed to climb the RaboDirect PRO12 table and with just two points separating Connacht from the Dragons and Treviso a best ever eighth place finish is certainly within reach.

Speaking about the selection Head Coach Eric Elwood said:
"We're looking for a strong performance and to finish the season on a high. We've had some excellent results in recent weeks and we hope to build on that and finish on an up. It'll be a big day for the likes of Ray (Ofisa) and Henry (Fa'afili) playing in front of the home crowd for the last time so it would be great to give them the send off they deserve and finish with a win."

Connacht Rugby will throw open it's doors for a family fun day this Saturday ahead of the match. From 2.30pm the Sportsground will be transformed with bouncy castles, obstacle courses, rugby assault course, meet the players and much more. Further details can be found on www.connachtrugby.ie

Connacht Rugby XV to face Aironi (The Sportsground – Saturday 21st April – kick-off 17.00)
15 Gavin Duffy (C)
14 Tiernan O'Halloran
13 Kyle Tonetti
12 Henry Fa'afili
11 Fetu'u Vainikolo
10 Miah Nikora
09 Frank Murphy
01 Denis Buckley
02 Ethienne Reynecke
03 Ronan Loughney
04 Michael Swift
05 Mike McCarthy
06 John Muldoon
07 Ray Ofisa
08 George Naoupu

16 Adrian Flavin
17 Stewart Maguire
18 Rodney Ah You
19 Mick Kearney
20 Johnny O'Connor
21 Paul O'Donohoe
22 Matthew Jarvis
23 Eoin Griffin