DFP Header Area

Tebaldi makes it 20 from 20 as Aironi host Scarlets

Guinness PRO12 Editor

13 Apr 2012

The match between Aironi and Scarlets will close RaboDirect PRO12 round 20 on Sunday afternoon. Kick-off in Viadana is scheduled at 3,05 pm (2,05 GMT), with a live broadcast on BBC Wales, late braodcast on RaiSport1 at 10,35 pm. Irish referee John Lacey takes charge of the game.

Scarlets come to Viadana targeting a bonus point win to cut the distance between them and a play-off spot. At the moment the Welshmen have a 5 point gap from Munster and Glasgow Warriors. On their side, Aironi want to collect their fifth win this season, the first one against a Welsh club after beating Edinburgh, Treviso, Connacht and Munster.

Tito Tebaldi makes his 20th appearance for the side from 20 RaboDirect PRO12 games this season. He will play again at fullback, while wings Giulio Toniolatti and Sinoti Sinoti and centres Gilberto Pavan and Matteo Pratichetti complete the back line.

In the halves, Luciano Orquera (who needs one more point to reach 100 points scored in all competitions this season) pairs up with scrum half Tyson Keats.

In the pack, Josh Sole is back at number 8 with Simone Favaro and Nicola Cattina flankering. In the second row Aironi can count on Quintin Geldenhuys and captain Marco Bortolami: stats say that the pair helped Italy to become the best line-out of the tournament during the Six Nations. In the front row, experienced prop Matias Aguero and hooker Fabio Ongaro play alongside young tighthead prop Lorenzo Romano.

There are two important comebacks amongst the replacements: Tommaso D’Apice and Nick Williams. Williams has played just 8 PRO12 games so far this season, but with five tries he’s the top scorer of the club and the fourth of the tournament, in which he scored a try every 117 minutes giving him the best minutes played/try scored ratio.

AIRONI: 15 Tito Tebaldi; 14 Giulio Toniolatti, 13 Gilberto Pavan, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Sinoti Sinoti; 10 Luciano Orquera, 9 Tyson Keats; 8 Josh Sole, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 Nicola Cattina; 5 Marco Bortolami (cap), 4 Quintin Geldenhuys; 3 Lorenzo Romano, 2 Fabio Ongaro, 1 Matias Aguero.

Replacements: 16 Tommaso D’Apice, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Salvatore Perugini, 19 Joshua Furno, 20 Nick Williams, 21 Filippo Ferrarini, 22 Naas Olivier, 23 Giovanbattista Venditti.

Coach: Rowland Phillips.