DFP Header Area

Naoupu to make his return against Ulster

Guinness PRO12 Editor

13 Apr 2012

Connacht Rugby have announced the starting XV and replacements that will face Ulster this weekend (The Sportsground – Saturday 14th April ko 17.15)

The side remains largely unchanged from that which defeated the Dragons two weeks ago in Rodney Parade with just one change to the starting lineup. George Naoupu will don the number eight jersey with John Muldoon moving back to his traditional position at blindside flanker.

The replacements see Johnny O'Connor return to the squad; he has been out of action since fracturing his eye-socket against Leinster on New Year's Day. Eoin Griffin also makes the bench having missed the Dragons match through a knee injury.

Speaking about the selection Head Coach Eric Elwood said:

"Looking back on our last two performances we had a very good effort against Munster, just not the result we wanted, we had the same team out against the Dragons and to be fair to the boys they were excellent. So there are not too many changes, on saying that there's one positional change and it's great to welcome George back for such an important game. He's been a big player for us all year so that's a big boost for us .It's great as well to have Johnny O'Connor and Eoin Griffin back for such an important derby match."

There are a number tickets available for match and they can be purchased from www.connachtrugby.ie or from the Connacht Rugby Offices on College Rd, Galway

Connacht XV to face Ulster (The Sportsground – Saturday 14th April ko 17.15 live on TG4 & BBC NI)
15 Gavin Duffy (C)
14 Tiernan O'Halloran
13 Kyle Tonetti
12 Henry Fa'afili
11 Fetu'u Vainikolo
10 Miah Nikora
09 Frank Murphy
01 Brett Wilkinson
02 Ethienne Reynecke
03 Ronan Loughney
04 Michael Swift
05 Mike McCarthy
06 John Muldoon
07 Ray Ofisa
08 George Naoupu

16 Adrian Flavin
17 Denis Buckley
18 Rodney Ah You
19 Mick Kearney
20 Johnny O'Connor
21 Paul O'Donohoe
22 Matthew Jarvis
23 Eoin Griffin