DFP Header Area

Leinster team to face Edinburgh…

Guinness PRO12 Editor

12 Apr 2012

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash in the RDS (KO: 7.45pm) has been named.

Jamie Heaslip captains the team and the Naas man is one of three survivors in the starting XV from last weekend’s Heineken Cup quarter final for the visit of the Scottish side. In all there are eight Ireland internationals in the line-up with Heaslip joined in the back-row by Shane Jennings and Rhys Ruddock.

Damian Browne makes his 20th appearance of the season and partners Devin Toner at lock, with Sean Cronin joining Heinke van der Merwe and Nathan White in the front row after the trio featured in the 34-3 victory over the Cardiff Blues last weekend.

Isaac Boss partners Ian Madigan (who is second in the PRO12’s try-scoring list this season with 7 in 17 games so far) at half back. The Blackrock College out-half is in line to make his 45th Leinster appearance with Fergus McFadden lining up in the midfield alongside Gordon D’Arcy.

Fionn Carr (making his 18th appearance of the season), right winger David Kearney and Isa Nacewa complete the line-up.

Kevin McLaughlin, Eoin Reddan and Richardt Strauss are named amongst a replacements bench which sees a blend of youth and experience including 22-year-old Lansdowne prop Martin Moore who could make his debut for the province whom he previously captained at Under-20 level.

Over 15,600 tickets have been sold for Friday’s game which will incorporate the specially themed ‘Leinster Rugby Spring Fling’ is also due to take place with: a bumper family day including a giant inflatable slide, bouncing castle, ropes course and climbing wall, a fairground including old style bumper cars, carnival games and a carousel, a treasure hunt around the RDS featuring Leo the Lion (starts at 6.45pm from the Leinster Rugby Store) and a display of acrobatic bike riders in the “pocket” area behind the South Stand.

Tickets are on sale now for €10 for juniors, €20 for adults and €50 for a family of four, online from www.leinsterrugby.ie, from Ticketmaster outlets nationwide and a limited selection from the Leinster Rugby Store and Spar Donnybrook (excludes family tickets).

15: Isa Nacewa
14: David Kearney
13: Fergus McFadden
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Fionn Carr
10: Ian Madigan
9: Isaac Boss
1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Sean Cronin
3: Nathan White
4: Damian Browne
5: Devin Toner
6: Rhys Ruddock
7: Shane Jennings
8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN

16: Richardt Strauss
17: Jack McGrath
18: Martin Moore
19: Kevin McLaughlin
20: Leo Auva'a
21: Eoin Reddan
22: Noel Reid
23: Brendan Macken

REFEREE: Peter Fitzgibbon (IRFU) , ASSISTANT REFEREES: David Wilkinson, Simon McDowell (both IRFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Gary Glennon (Leinster Rugby Referees), 5th OFFICIAL: Robbie O’Flynn (Leinster Rugby Referees), TMO: Jude Quinn (IRFU)